Frijid Pink - Defrosted

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Akarma
Catalog Number: AK-231
Format: LP
Total Time: 48:01:00

Keith reviewed this and Frijid Pink at the same time; they are listed separately in the database -ed.,

Frijid Pink typified late '60s Detroit rock. Their self-titled debut was a startling mixture of rock-blues-psychedelic music. A rocking, electrifying version of "House Of The Rising Sun" charted and garnered a lot of attention for the group. The album cover was a reflection of the culture and artwork of the rock 'n' roll times that were gathering a head of steam and that would change the world of entertainment forever. I thought of Andy Warhol at first glance at the cover because of the color scheme with bold black and white images and the neon background; Warhol's pictures were typically the opposite with the same affect.

Side 1 fondly reminded me of the group Cactus, with blues influenced rock and a lead vocalist with strong ruff-around-the-edges pipes built for hard driving white boy blues-rock. Side 2 was a continuation of many high-energy bursts of heavy-duty blues-rock guitar runs backed by a compelling rhythm section. This band brewed a powerful combination of psychedelic-blues-rock, the kind that made a person named Hendrix a legend.

Such a successful debut would be tough to top. Unfortunately, the ominous dark cloud of the sophomore slump beset this fine group. Although Defrosted was a good album, the energy and focus of the previous release are lacking and Kelly Green's vocals seemed forced and too over the top. Somehow, the band lost their hungry edge on this album. Green indeed was a fine vocalist built for blues-rock but I think he tried to compensate for what was lacking on this album with his voice.

D: Side One Black Lace (6:08) / Sing A Song For Freedom (3:00) / I'll Never Be Lonely (5:00) / Bye Bye Blues (4:55) / Bonus Tracks: I Love Her (2:19) / Lost Son (2:44)

D: Side Two: Pain In My Heart (8:20) / Sloony ( 3:35) / I'm Movin' (4:52) / I Haven't Got The Time (4:21) / Bonus Tracks: We're Gonne Be There (2:27) / Shorty Kline (2:20)

Kelly Green - vocals, harmonica
Gary Ray Thompson -guitar
Thomas Beaudry - bass
Larry Zelanka -keyboards
Rick Stevens - drums

Frijid Pink (1970/2002)
Defrosted (1970/2002)
Earth Omen (1972)
All Pink Inside (1975)
Hibernated (2002) (3CD Box set feat. 1st 3 albums)

Genre: Rock

Origin US

Added: March 2nd 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 1055
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]