Gabriel, Peter - Security

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Geffen
Catalog Number: PGCDX4
Format: CD
Total Time: 45:32:00

Peter Gabriel's fourth release titled Security (only in America, to generate better sales than his previous self-titled releases) was the album that put him over the top in the U.S. This was due in large part to the smash international hit "Shock The Monkey," which by the way has never sounded better. Although the dark and serious side was still present in Gabriel's atmospheric soundtracks and lyrics, there was a new lighter and more rhythmically complex element due to a lot of percussion, giving it all a decidedly Latin world flavor. This was the beginning of a new era for Gabriel and rock music as whole, with many artists following his lead.

I found this to be a fine effort with the tried and true Gabriel atmospheric touch in place with polished production and the usual stellar musicianship provided by key people performing and producing in all phases of the musical processes. This was the beginning of a new phase is Peter's career, what was to come next would move Gabriel to yet another level, giving him a more powerful presence in several segments of the music industry.

Also released as regular remastered edition - PGCDR4

The Rhythm Of The Heat (5:18) / San Jacinto (6:34) / I Have The Touch (4:35) / The Family And The Fishing Net (7:07) / Shock The Monkey (5:28) / Lay Your Hands On Me (6:09) / Wallflower (6:38) / Kiss Of Life (4:15)

Peter Gabriel - flute, drums, horn, keyboards, marimba, programming, vocals, background vocals, surdo
Ekome Dance Company - percussion, drums
John Ellis - guitar, vocals
Larry Fast - synthesizer, programming, Moog synthesizer, Prophet synthesizer, electronic percussion, processing, Moog bass
Jill Gabriel - vocals, background vocals
Roberto Laneri - saxophone
Tony Levin - bass, Stick, vocals, fretless bass
David Lord - synthesizer, piano, glockenspiel, keyboards, programming, Prophet synthesizer, CMI, polymoog
Jerry Marotta - percussion, drums, vocals, surdo
Stephen Paine - synthesizer, programming, saxophone, swanee (slide whistle), Fairlight, CMI
Morris Pert - percussion, pipe, timbales
David Rhodes - guitar, vocals, background vocals

Peter Gabriel (1) (1977/2002)
Peter Gabriel (2) (1978/2002)
Peter Gabriel (3) (1980/2002)
Security (1982/2002)
Plays Live (1983/2002)
Birdy (OST) (1984/2002)
So (1985/2002)
Passion (1989/2002)
Shaking The Tree (1990)
Us (1992)
Secret World Live (1994)
Ovo: The Millennium Show (2000)
Ovo: (2000)
Up (2002)
Long Walk Home (2002)
Hit (2003)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: June 26th 2002
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 1174
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]