Five Fifteen - Six Dimensions Of Electric Camembert

Year of Release: 2000
Label: Record Heaven
Catalog Number: RHCD 38
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:00:00

I have never been a true fan of the music of Gong, but their name has always been with me due to the strange title they gave one of their albums: Camembert Électrique. Without any doubt that title has inspired our Skandinavian friends from Five Fifteen because they called their album Six Dimensions Of Electric Camembert. The nice sounding Hammond organ in "Innocence Is No Excuse" is a nice opener for the flowerpower coloured music which clearly has its roots in the "everything-can-nothing-must" period. "White Lines Of The Freeway" sort of mixes Led Zeppelin with Yes with an outstanding synth solo as highlight. "I Don't Remember" is a very catchy pop song based on an addictive rhythm. Also in the funny "Another Grasshopper's Holiday," both rhythm and vocals are the main reason for the playful aspect of the music. As you go along it becomes clear how difficult it is to label the music of Five Fifteen because the band really uses all styles in order to create their own special stew. In "Once I Had A Name For This One," we once again hear that wonderful Procol Harum organ whilst the guitar lends a lick or two from David Gilmour. I suppose this band is probably very good live but they find it difficult to transfer that feel onto disc. On top of that the members are so interested in all kinds of music that it becomes too varied, that you can't find one specific line in their music. Maybe that will be their BIG problem!

Also released earlier in 1998 on Blastic Heaven, BHR 3354

Innocence Is No Excuse (6:57) / Six Dimensions Of The Electric Camembert (5:59) / White Lines Of The Freeway (5:44) / I Don't Remember (6:01) / Another Grasshopper's Holiday (5:47) / Wide Awake Dreams and Sleepwalking Nightmares (3:08) / The Wink Of An Eye (6:29) / Once I Had A Name For This One (7:25)

Mika Jorvinen - vocals and guitars
Marika Liuski - vocals and percussion
Pekka Laine - guitars
Pate Kivinen - keyboards
Repe Lumikumpu - bass
Jan-Erik Suni - drums

Progressive Hardrock Beyond the Mainstream (1994)
Armageddon Jam Session Number Four (1995)
Psychedelic Singalongs For Stadiums (1997)
Six Dimensions Of The Electric Camembert (1998)
The Sensational Five Fifteen (2003)
The Man Who Sold Himself (2004)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin FI

Added: January 1st 2000
Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg

Artist website:
Hits: 1601
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]