I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Mnemic Get Existential

Posted on Thursday, October 05 @ 04:40:09 UTC by nightowl

Denmark's self-professed "fusion future metal" band Mnemic have named their upcoming third studio album Passenger, which is scheduled for release in Europe on February 2nd and in North America on February 6th.

In regards to the potent lyrical content, Mnemic guitarist Mircea states:

"It's thematically built around the meaning of existence, or in other words, the philosophy of Existentialism. There are several philosophical positions - one of them being the value and meaning of the world around the individual, and the other is that Existentialism is often associated with anxiety, dread, awareness of death, and freedom. We chose this subject and theme mainly because it's so vast, and second, because we have always been big fans of Stanly Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey movie. We wanted to do something like that, just with music and lyrics."

Produced by Mnemic, Fear Factory's Christian Olde Wolbers, and Warren Riker (Down, Crowbar, The Fugees) at Track Record Studios (Kiss, Megadeth, Aerosmith) in Los Angeles and mixed by fellow countryman Tue Madsen (Halford, The Haunted) at Antfarm Studios in Denmark, 2007's Passenger will feature guest vocal appearances by Jeff Walker (Carcass, Brujeria) and Shane Embury (Napalm Death, Brujeria) and artwork by Asterik Studios (Anthrax, Unearth).

The tracklisting for Passenger is as follows:

01. Humanaut
02. In The Nothingness Black
03. Meaningless
04. Psykorgasm
05. Pigfuck
06. In Control
07. Electric I'd Hypocrisy
08. Stuck Here
09. What's Left
10. Shape Of The Formless
11. The Eye On Your Back
Japanese Bonus Track: Zero Synchronized

Mnemic are currently preparing to shoot a video for "Meaningless" at Revolver Studios in Gothenberg, Sweden with Revolver Film director Patric Ullaeus. The band's new lead vocalist, Guillaume, will make his live North American debut on the upcoming tour with labelmates Soilwork and Threat Signal plus Darkest Hour. The band will also debut "Shape Of The Formless" off the new album.

Tour dates for "The Last Stab" tour, which launches in Virginia on October 5th, can be viewed here: http://www.nuclearblastusa.com/ontour.html.

Photos from Passenger's recording session can be viewed here.

Visit Mnemic online at www.MNEMIC.com and http://www.myspace.com/mnemicofficial.

[Source: Nuclear Blast USA]

Posted in Album Release News