I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Underground Moon Rises Again Monday August 18

Posted on Sunday, August 17 @ 20:35:52 UTC by nightowl

Underground Moon is the mysterious side project of Jeff Pilson, ex-bassist of the famous American hard rock band Dokken and former member of Ronnie James Dio?s solo line-up (in the years 1993-96 and 2004). Using the pseudonym Dominic Moon, Pilson explores the realm of modern rock, often venturing into industrial and electronic themes. The result? One of the most fascinating releases in contemporary music, comparable to such groups as Nine Inch Nails, Gravity Kills and Stabbing Westward!

As a member of Dokken, Pilson recorded over 10 LPs and live albums, including such classics as Tooth And Nail (1984), Under Lock And Key (1985), Back For The Attack (1987), Beast From The East (1988), Dysfunctional (1995) and Erase The Slate (1999). In his career he also worked with such acts as Flesh And Blood, Minoru Niihara, M.S.G. and Power Project, which he formed in 2004 with musicians from Quiet Riot, Tokyo Blade and Heaven And Hell.

In 2001 Pilson met with producer and musician Tommy Henriksen, known from his solo work and a featured soundtrack song in the movie Blast From The Past (1999) with Brendan Fraser, Alicia Silverstone and Chistopher Walken. The two musicians decided to join forces and form a modern rock project, clearly inspired by the futuristic sounds of bands such as Nine Inch Nails and Filter. Thus Underground Moon was born. Pilson?s and Henriksen?s combined musical talent brought one of the most electrifying releases on the modern rock scene, complete with razor-sharp guitars, distorted vocals, cold, mechanical drums and inhuman synths. Perhaps one of the most intriguing tracks on the album is the stunning cover version of Midnight Oil?s hit single "Beds Are Burning" ? a perfect fit into the original material. As Dominic Moon, Pilson recorded all the drum and bass parts, as well as the vocals for each song, while Henriksen took on the guitar duties and produced the entire album. Underground Moon?s self-titled debut was eventually released in 2001 by Rebelution Entertainment? Unfortunately, from that moment on, no further offerings from Underground Moon ever saw the light of day. The group?s current status is unknown and we can only hope for another release from this truly extraordinary project.

In the meantime, let this exclusive re-release of the band?s stunning debut album guide you to a world of pure cybernetic beauty?

Metal Mind Productions will re-release Underground Moon on 18th August 2008 in Europe and 28th October 2008 in USA (via MVD). New digipak edition is limited to 2000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on golden disc.


1. Backslide
2. Gray
3. Suicidal Maze
4. In Cinema
5. Beds Are Burning
6. Unknown
7. Shed The Skin
8. Acid Superman
9. Shakti
10. Imaginary Jesus
11. Open Circles

[Source: Metal Mind]

Posted in Album Release News