I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Frontiers Releases Second Pathosray Album

Posted on Monday, August 03 @ 01:30:00 UTC by nightowl

Frontiers Records is delighted to announce the signing of Italian progressive metal band Pathosray for the release of its upcoming second album, Sunless Skies.

Pathosray was formed in 2000 by drummer Ivan Moni Bidin and vocalist Marco Sandron, later joined by bass player Fabio D'Amore, keyboardist Gianpaolo Rinaldi, and guitarist Alessio Velliscig. The band released its self titled debut album Pathosray through Sensory Records in late 2007, gathering a great response from the progressive metal communities all over the world.

In support of the release, Pathosray played a few selected shows around Italy, and in September 2008 the guys went to Atlanta to perform for the first time abroad in front of an enthusiastic ProgPower USA Festival crowd. Two weeks later they played at ProgPower Europe in Holland with similar responses.

The rest of 2008 was spent on writing and recording Sunless Skies, which was recorded at Artesonika Studios in Italy and mixed and mastered in Sweden by Johan Ornborg and Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Symphony X, Hammerfall, Opeth, Katatonia, etc).

With a new record deal in place and an awesome new album to boot, Pathosray is ready to climb the next step on the progressive metal ladder. "We're all really happy and excited about the new album and the way how our sound evolved during these two years," said bassist Fabio D'Amore. "The new recording deals, with Frontiers Records and Soundholic, will surely give 'Sunless Skies' an extra value with the possibility to reach new fans and spreading our music in the best way possible! We're extremely pleased to have the possibility to work with such respectable companies, also thanks to the amazing job that Intromental Management is doing for us!"

In connection with the upcoming release, set for May 25 in Europe and June 9 in the USA on Frontiers/Super D, Pathosray has been confirmed to play ProgPower Scandinavia Festival (alongside Pretty Maids, Freak Kitchen, Mercenary, and more) in Copenhagen, Denmark, on September 25.

"2009 couldn't have started better than this," said drummer Ivan Moni Bidin. "The excitement for the invitation to play at ProgPower Scandinavia in Denmark with such big names will give us the strength to keep improving and set up the best show possible!"

The final tracklisting of Sunless Skies is:

1. Crown Of Thorns
2. Behind The Shadows
3. Aurora
4. Quantic Enigma
5. In Your Arms
6. Sons Of The Sunless Sky
7. The Coldest Lullaby
8. Perpetual Eclipse (Interludium)
9. Poltergeis
10. For The Last Time - 2009 version (bonus track Europe/USA)
11. Rainfall (bonus track Japan)

[Source: Mazur PR]

Posted in Album Release News