I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Epica: New Album Update, Headling North American Tour

Posted on Wednesday, August 05 @ 07:00:00 UTC by nightowl

Mark Jansen, guitarist & songwriter for Holland?s symphonic metal band Epica, checks in with a new album update plus a headlining North American 2010 tour announcement:

"It's been a great time at Gate Studio in Wolfsburg [Germany] recording Design Your Universe. We worked with the same team [producer Sascha Paeth] and we worked for the first time together with our new guitar player Isaac Delahaye [formerly of God Dethroned].

"This made a difference and made things very refreshing because we could add some new elements because of him. We have worked harder than ever on the details. We preferred to spend some extra money on great additions which brings our songs to a higher level instead of leaving things like they are.

"The result is that we worked so hard on this album that we hardly can listen to the album anymore. Now it's time to let it go and release it to humanity. We were already very happy with The Divine Conspiracy but I'm sure this new album tops that one.

"The album title, Design Your Universe, deals with new breakthroughs in quantum physics. It proves that we are all connected to each other on subatomic level. Also, it shows that we can create or at least influence matter with our thoughts? a very interesting fact. Because it changes everything for us, our whole worldview collapses once you accept these facts and integrate them in your lives. So this had to become the new album title.

"We'll be headlining a North American tour in 2010 featuring Daath and Blackguard. I can't wait for this tour as it's a strong package!"

About the band?s new material, Epica singer Simone Simons has previously stated, "It is so exciting! I love the new songs and can't wait to play them live."

Exclusive pre-sale tickets for the tour [became] available online beginning July 20th at EnterTheVault.com [and will be available] through August 19th. On August 20th, tickets go on sale through all normal ticketing outlets.

Twenty high-quality live performance photos of Epica at Italy?s Gods Of Metal Festival on June 27th are available at Musica Metal.

View footage of new EPICA guitarist Isaac Delahaye at the band?s Royal Artist Club page.

Update 8/7/09: The complete track listing has been revealed for Design Your Universe, the new album from Dutch female-fronted symphonic metallers Epica. Due in Europe on October 16 via Nuclear Blast Records, the follow-up to 2007's The Divine Conspiracy was recorded at Gate Studio in Wolfsburg, Germany with producer Sascha Paeth.

Design Your Universe track listing:

01. Samadhi (prelude)
02. Resign to Surrender (A New Age Dawns - Part IV)
03. Unleashed
04. Martyr Of The Free Word
05. Our Destiny
06. Kingdom Of Heaven (A New Age Dawns - Part V)
07. The Price Of Freedom (interlude)
08. Burn To A Cinder
09. Tides Of Time
10. Deconstruct
11. Semblance Of Liberty
12. White Waters
13. Design Your Universe (A New Age Dawns - Part VI)

[Source: Nuclear Blast USA, Epica website]

Posted in Album Release News