I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Neal Morse Releases New Epic 2DVD/4CD Live Album

Posted on Friday, September 04 @ 20:10:00 UTC by nightowl

Morsefest 2014 - Testimony And One Live

Progressive Rock icon Neal Morse (also of Flying Colours and Transatlantic and ex-Spock's Beard) is pleased to announce his new live album Neal Morse - Morsefest 2014 Testimony And One Live.

Released on Friday August 21, the live album is available as a 2-Blu-Ray or Special Edition 2 DVD/4 CD set from Radiant Records

The album was recorded live in Nashville on November 14 and 15, 2014. Long-time collaborators Mike Portnoy and Randy George, as well as Neal Morse Band anchors Bill Hubauer and Eric Gillette, joined Neal to perform his renowned classic albums Testimony and One.

Complete with 4-piece horn section, 6-member female background vocal section, violin and cello, full orchestra percussion with timpani and chimes, dancers, special guests and special staging; this is the most elaborate live release of Neal’s career.

This stunning live album concert features over 5 hours of great performances including the entire Testimony and One albums, plus special encores of the Spock's Beard classic "The Light" featuring Alan Morse, and the Transatlantic epic "Stranger In Your Soul." Also included is a behind-the-scenes documentary with footage of Neal's exclusive acoustic concert, the rehearsal footage, "Name That Prog Tune" game with Mike Portnoy, and lots more.

Neal even flew out Rich Mouser who mixed the original studio albums to do the front of house mix! Neal says "We really went all out this time. I wanted it to be the quintessential presentation and performance of this music." And so it was...and is!

Says Mike Portnoy - "I've got to say... as a fan of this wonderful music, how incredible this is! I am so happy to see this come to fruition. This music really deserves this... everything from the incredible presentation, and all these amazing musicians... it's great to hear this music come to life on stage like this. To be doing it in his hometown with all his friends and family present and to be doing it here in this building that has such incredible importance to him and his story, it's elevated the music to a whole new level. This is just been an amazing experience!"

DVD/BR Disc 1: Morsefest 2014 Night 1 - "Testimony" Live plus Encores:

-- Part One --

01. The Land of Beginning Again
02. Overture No. 1
03. California Nights
04. Colder In The Sun
05. Sleeping Jesus
06. Interlude
07. The Prince Of The Power Of The Air
08. The Promise
09. Wasted Life

-- Part Two --

10. Overture No. 2
11. Break Of Day
12. Power In The Air
13. Somber Days
14. Long Story
15. It's All I Can Do

-- Part Three --

16. Transformation
17. Ready To Try
18. Sing It High

-- Part Four --

19. Moving In My Heart
20. I Am Willing
21. In The Middle
22. The Storm Before The Calm
23. Oh, To Feel Him
24. God‘s Theme

-- Part Five --

25. Overture No. 3
26. Rejoice
27. Oh Lord My God
28. God's Theme 2
29. The Land Of Beginning Again

-- Encores --

30. Jayda
31. Time Has Come
32. Jesus' Blood

[CD version, Disc 1 is Parts One and Two; Disc 2 Parts Three And Four]

DVD/BR Disc 2: Morsefest 2014 Night 2 - "One" Live plus Encores:

01. The Creation
02. The Man's Gone
03. Nothing To Believe
04. Author Of Confusion
05. The Separated Man
06. Cradle To The Grave
07. Help Me/Spirit And The Flesh
08. King Jesus
09. Father Of Forgiveness
10. Reunion

-- Encores --

11. It's For You
12. Wind At My Back
13. The Light
14. Stranger In Your Soul

Special Documentary - "The Morsefest Experience" created by Randy George

[CD version, Disc 3 is tracks 1-8; Disc 4 is tracks 9-10 plus encores]

(Note: same tracklisting for DVD as for the Blu-Ray version ..., these are not hybrid disks, 'tis one or the other. :-) But the super-deluxe version only comes as 2DVD/4CD)

Below, a pair of sneak peaks:

MorseFest 2015 is going on right now (Sep 5 2015, playing ?)! And day two is this Saturday where they'll play Sola Scriptura albums... plus encores each night I'm sure.

[Source: Radiant Records, Noble PR]

Posted in Album Release News

Sorry, Comments are not available for this article.