Paradise Lost To Release New Album, Tour
Date: Monday, April 23 @ 00:27:18 UTC
Topic: Album Release News

Paradise Lost, the godfathers of gothic metal, have posted a medley of two new tracks, "The Enemy" and "Beneath Black Skies," to their official MySpace page ( The tracks are taken from the group's phenomenal forthcoming release, In Requiem, which is set for a June 5th U.S. release (May 18 in DE, AT, CH, NL and IT; May 21 UK, FR, ES, DK, NO and the rest of Europe; May 23 SE, FI and HU)

The album, produced by Rhys Fulber (Fear Factory, Front Line Assembly) and mixed by Mike Fraser (Slipknot), marks a return to their heavy trademark sound. Their melancholic atmosphere is as oppressive as ever, but on this go round, the gloom is fused with an equal amount of dense, punishing riffs. Never ones to rest on their laurels, the group brings something new to the table with each successive album, and In Requiem is no exception.

[As I'm prepping this news item, btw, the lead-off track "Never For The Damned" is playing (from their e-card -- it's very gloomy, heavy and, IMNHO, pretty cool. Recalling for me both Evergrey and classic Metallica, and that darker, doomier atmosphere they had that I liked so much... You can hear "Ash & Debris," and the "The Enemy," too. -ed.]

The tracklisting for In Reqiuem is "Never For The Damned," "Ash & Debris," "The Enemy," "Praise Lamented Shade," "In Requiem," "Unreachable," "Prelude To Descent," "Fallen Children," "Beneath Black Skies," "Sedative God," and "Your Own Reality." It will come in three editions - standard jewel case; digipack with alternative cover art in black velvet box, includes 2 bonus tracks "Missing" (a Everything But The Girl cover) and "Silent In Heart" (ltd to 25,000 copies worldwide); and in a 4" x 7" vinyl box with 3 bonus tracks, bonus CD and poster booklet (ltd to 2,000 copies worldwide).

Paradise Lost will make their triumphant return to the U.S. with Nightwish in October.

This article comes from

The URL for this story is: