Laferriere, Yves - Yves Laferriere

Year of Release: 2006
Label: ProgQuebec
Catalog Number: MPM 11
Format: CD
Total Time: 45:39:00

You may not be aware of it yet, but ProgresSon Music is out to prove that Quebec's progressive music scene of the 70s deserves to be heard. Quebec was a hotbed for progressive music back in the 70s, but seems to have all but disappeared from the community's consciousness. As the label continues to release these "lost" recordings, it would be worth your while to check them out.

Bassist Yves Laferriere has a long resume, having played with the rock band Contraction and the Ville-Emard Blues Band, before releasing this 1978 self-titled album. In his own words, Laferriere states that the album was a stepping stone towards film scoring. Colored with all sorts of instruments (flute, violin, vibraphone, saxophone), there is a variety in sound and style. "Ouverture: Le Son Qui Nous Unit" has a great 12-string lead guitar break that moves on to a violin solo, with an excellent bouncy rhythm underneath. Guitarist René Lussier provides Hackett like tones when called upon. "La Douce Odeur De L'encens" features some of that guitar work, and with its softer atmospheric sound, it is most likely a window into the music Laferriere was moving into.

A light jazzy feel best describes most of the album's music. "Mouvements" is the heaviest track, veering into funky fusion territory, and really opening itself up to a more avant sounding section towards the end. Laferriere's bass has its most prominent moments on this track. The disc closes with what I believe are four short pieces scored for film, mostly featuring the smooth saxophone playing of Richard Beaudet. Laferriere's music should appeal to fans who lean towards jazz, and the light feel of Canterbury bands.

Ouverture: Le Son Qui Nous Unit (4:44) / Des Instruments Charges A Blanc (4:36) / La Douce Odeur De L' Encens (3:11) / Anastasie Oh! Ma Cherie (Theme Du Film) (3:35) / Merida! Merida! (3:59) / La Cuisine Rouge (5:33) / La Samba Du Bas-Du-Fleuve (5:32) / Mouvements (7:49) Pieces Inedites : Musiques Extraites Du Film La Cuisine Rouge (6:01)

Yves Laferriere - bass, piano, vocals
Pierre Saint Jacques - piano, Oberheim
Ren? Lussier - guitars
Richard Perotte - drums, congas, percussion
Mathieu Leger - drums, percussion
Bernard Cormier - violin
Josiane Roy - violin
Monique Fauteux - vocals
Paule Baillargeon - vocals
Marie-Michele Desrosiers - voice
Michel Rivard - acoustic Guitar
Francois Richard - flute
Libert Subirana - saxophone, flute
Jean Vanasse - vibraphone
Richard Beaudet - tenor & soprano saxophone
Gilles Beaudoin - guitars

Yves LaFerriere (1978/2006)
M?tis (1999)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin CA

Added: April 23rd 2006
Reviewer: Eric Porter

Hits: 1047
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]