At Vance - No Escape

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Shark Records
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 51:30:00

Some of you might have heard about this band already, as words about new great bands spread really fast on the net. At Vance are from Germany and this is their first album and also the first album released on the Shark label which has been brought to life again.

At Vance offer up-tempo neoclassical melodic metal or power metal if you want. The songs are based around catchy shredding guitars, which are all over the place, pounding drums and excellent mid-ranged vocals. All songs have a really melodic edge, with great melody-lines and choruses, easily accessible. If I was to compare them to any bands, this sounds like a blend of Malmsteen, Kenziner and Stratovarius. The production is good, with all instruments present, and should not cause any problems for the listener.

There are maybe a couple of songs that don't reach up to the same level as the other songs, but overall this is a very even and enjoyable album. This CD is highly recommended to all guitar fans as well as fans of neo-classical melodic metal/power metal. The CD is a worthy debut for the new life of the Shark label. Welcome back!

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Flying High / No Escape / No Speak / Die In Your Arms / All For One, One For All / Money, Money, Money / Four Seasons - Summer / Lost In Your Love / Power & Glory / Seven Seas

Oliver Hardmann - vocals
Olaf Lenk - guitars
Rainald Koenig - guitars
Uli Mueller - keyboards
Spoony ? drums

No Escape (1999)
Heart Of Steel (2000)
Dragonchaser (2001)
Only Human (2002)
The Evil In You (2003)
Chained (2005)
VII (2007)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: November 26th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1228
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]