Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 81 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Variant - Beyond Jargon


    Year of Release: 2006
    Label: independent
    Catalog Number: n/a
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 56:46:00

    The cover of the new Variant CD suggests that what they have to offer inside is Beyond Jargon. As I found out rather quickly, it lives up to its title. Jargon, defined as vocabulary of a group, is something every group has, in a musical reference. A sound or way of communicating is the best frame of reference concerning the new Variant CD.

    There was a reason I was instantly attracted to this music, the lead singer Jerry Wengert has a similar style and tone to Andy Powell of Wishbone Ash. The music itself has some similarities as well with sound and subject matter. A good case in point would be ?March To War? and ?Deeds.? Some deeply emotional subjects close to many people in war torn countries gets some good coverage in the tracks.

    Musically this band is very strong, vividly pounding home their lyrics with a mixture of rock, progressive, and metal. Since I enjoy listening to all three styles of music this was a lot fun to absorb. Upon my second listen, I took a closer look at the lyrics and heard many words that held meaning and importance to me. I found myself agreeing with the band?s point of view. The beginning of "Deeds? goes like this?

    The deeds of mankind are chilling
    The needs of so many, so few
    Mankind can?t seem to be willing
    To look through the other man?s views

    It gives you a few things to think about and makes you step back and look at the world at large and gaze into the mirror and ask yourself if you are living right. With this, I am sure the band feels they are able to ignite interest in their music and create some kind of an impact if people can glean this kind of information from one of their songs. This was one of those "play it again it will grow on you CDs" and the reason you should check it out for all of the above reasons.


    Tracklisting:
    March To War (6:49) / Today I Tried (4:21) / None So Blind (7:10) / Deeds (6:10) / Carrin' Carrion (10:20) / Going (6:58) / Regardless (9:24) / Reflections (1:17) / When The Lights On (4:17)

    Musicians:
    Gary Langton - drums, blocks, chimes, and cymbalation
    Erik Connolly - lead and rhythm 6 string guitars, lap steel guitar
    Mike Herrel - 5 strings basses and piccolo bass
    Jerry Wengert - vocals, 6 & 12 string rhythm and lead guitars

    Discography:
    Beyond Jargon (2006)

    Genre: Rock

    Origin US

    Added: August 14th 2006
    Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck

    Artist website: www.musicbyvariant.com
    Hits: 684
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds