Guernica - Guernica

Year of Release: 2005
Label: self-released/MKM Promotion Agency
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

People use to say that the "third time's a charm," but that's not necessarily the case for Italian combo Guernica, who already possess two noteworthy mini LPs under their belts! However, their self-titled third album is the most complete one, spanning just under 50 minutes and comprising ten excellent songs. The record starts with the captivating "Picasso," which unveils an unexpected metal edge alongside the riffs delivered by the dynamic duo of Massimo Testa and Antonio Iandolo (also responsible for sound effects and electronic loops). However this newfound aggressiveness is not a coincidence and can be spotted on the following "Venus," too. The third track, "Di Raffinata Inconsistenza," is quite the opposite of the title's meaning. In fact this is an incredibly solid piece of music and represents a perfect mixture between the sundry landscapes that transpired from past CDs Senza Censure (mostly alternative rock) and Senza Sudare (acoustic progressive rock). The same can be said about the ever changing "Respiro Di Noia," while "Les Yeux" is an interesting interlude featuring both the accordion and French lyrics. Progressive rock returns to the forefront with the next two tracks, the smooth "Adrenocromo" (with a spacey guitar solo) and "Mai," where Guernica's rock crescendo erupts into a full-fledged harmonious chorus. Then the energy level picks up the intensity of the first few tracks with "Ferito" and the crossover elements of "Icaro." But it's the majestic poetry of "Eden" the final exclamation point of this fabulous platter, thanks to the honed interaction between piano, cello, acoustic guitar and the rousing voice of gifted Tony D'Alessio.

Picasso / Venus / Di Raffinata Inconsistenza / Respiro Di Noia / Les Yeux / Adrenocromo / Mai / Ferito / Icaro / Eden

Tony D'Alessio - vocals
Goffredo De Prisco - guitar, piano
Massimo Testa - guitar
Antonio Iandolo - guitar and campionamente
Diego Iannaccone - bass
Enzo Scorzeto - drums and campionamente
Enzo Di Somma - violoncello

Senza Censure (2002) Senza Sudare (2003) Guernica (2005)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin IT

Added: August 14th 2006
Reviewer: Igor Italiani

Artist website:
Hits: 1149
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]