Aztec Jade - Paradise Lost

Year of Release: 2000
Label: Adrenaline Records
Catalog Number: ADR 00011
Format: CD
Total Time: 70:37:00

I discovered this American band some years ago when I bought their debut mini-CD Modern Prophet. Although the music was nothing earth shattering, I liked their form of light progressive metal. A couple of years back I bought their follow-up, Frame Of Mind, and instantly liked that one better. It was a good and natural improvement from the debut album, sounding heavier and more mature. Now, the New York based 5-piece is back on a new label and a new album.

Actually this "new" release is a compilation of their two previous albums and for the first time available in Europe. The CD also contains a brand new unreleased studio bonus track. The promo sheet says their music will appeal to fans of Queensr?che, Dream Theater and Rush. I can't really find any similarities to Queensrÿche but fans of Dream Theater, Ice Age and Rush will probably like this. Pompous, melodic light progressive metal.

The songs from Frame Of Mind are the most accomplished and appealing. They also have more balls than the songs off Modern Prophet, but they complement each other well. There had been some time since I last listened to my Aztec Jade CD and at first the songs came out really anonymous. But after listening to the CD some more, I found that out of the 17 tracks there was not a single bad track. They all maintain high quality. The main problem with this disc is that there are so many songs to digest, but then again, why should I complain about that as you will definitely get value for your money.

The band writes good song structures and accessible, memorable melody-lines. On top the production by Scott MacPherson (Steve Perry, Drivin'n Cryin') is strong.

While we wait for the upcoming 4th CD, Paradise Lost should be a worthwhile purchase for those new to the band.

[This review originally appeared at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Regatta Fugue Part I (4:02) / The Calling (4:18) / To Believe (5:12) / Mad Not Crazy (4:15) / Desperate Land (2:57) / Nosferatu (4:37) / Atlantis (4:24) / Regatta Fugue Part II (3:24) / Stained (4:19) / Gates Of Babylon (4:14) / Requiem (4:30) / Modern Prophet (4:20) / Dirty Secrets (3:35) / Soul Inside Of Me (5:10) / The Creator (3:14) / Indian Summer (3:35) / Odyssey (6:31)

Bryan Kowalski - bass
Tim Becker - keyboards
Leon Ozug - vocals
Matt Howenstein - guitars
Rick Miller ? drums

Aztec Jade (1994)
Modern Prophet (1995)
Primitive Traxx (1997)
Frame of Mind (1997)
Paradise Lost (2000)
Concrete Eden (2001)

Genre: Progressive/Power Metal

Origin US

Added: November 1st 2002
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 957
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]