Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account
  • Downloads


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - Thick As A Brick (40th Anniversary Special Edition)
    ·CD/DVD: Flower Kings, The - Banks Of Eden
    ·CD/DVD: Nielsen, Jake - Perspective
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 54 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Twilight Symphony - Crossed Dimension


    Year of Release: 2003
    Label: independent
    Catalog Number: n/a
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 72:54:00

    Crossed Dimensions is the second full album released by unsigned band Twilight Symphony, following their self-titled debut in 2001. Although the individual musicians have skill, and the production is good, to me this is a fairly tepid album that I just couldn't enjoy. It's a concept piece, set in a hypothetical sci-fi future where the Egyptians have grown into a superhuman race, taken over as masters of the world, and meet their eventual downfall. Though an interesting precept, I found the story and lyrics awkward and poorly written, which was a real distraction.

    As I mentioned, there's technical talent here; each musician is good at what they do, but I feel as though they don't mesh as well as they could. It really seems to me as though they would work better as solo musicians rather than an ensemble (as the solos are actually quite good, compared to the tutti sections). The timing doesn't feel quite on at times, particularly in chuggy "background" sections where it feels as if the musicians drift apart, and there are some parts where it just feels clumsy. I don't care if it was written that way, Led Zeppelin's "Black Dog" (to pick an example) was written the way it sounds as well, and some of the timing in that still puts my teeth on edge. As far as I'm concerned, if it sounds awkward, or makes me feel awkward to listen to, it is awkward.

    There's some nice guitar sections in "Miles Away" and "Time To Decide," and also good keyboards in "The Killing Words" and "Undecided" (which is probably the only track I really did like, a nicely atmospheric instrumental). The songwriting is not bad, but a little unimaginative. Some of the album's heavier sections can be catchy, but overall there was nothing much that grabbed me. My other gripe was with the vocals, which are very uncomfortable on the ear, as if John Skidmore is ill at ease with the range he's trying to display.

    Overall I just did not like this album, I found it for the most part unremarkable, and in parts grating and unwieldy. The musicianship is reasonable, but I feel there are a few things that need developing before they make the transition from merely competent to actually enjoyable. Definitely has not made my favourites.

    [This review originally appeared July 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]


    Tracklisting:
    Egypt / Legacy / The Killing Words / Miles Away / The Pain I'm In / Frozen Fire / Undecided / Time To Decide / Eye Of The Hurricane / Oblivion (The Dying Race) / Supernova / Reflections / Wide Awake

    Musicians:
    John Wolf - vocals
    Jimmy Romero - guitars
    Frank Munoz - drums
    Rix Starr - bass

    Discography:
    Twilight Symphony (2001) Crossed Dimension (2003)

    Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

    Origin US

    Added: January 31st 2005
    Reviewer: Karyn Hamilton
    Score:
    Artist website: www.twilightsymphonyonline.com
    Hits: 623
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2013 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds