Nocturnal Rites - Afterlife

Year of Release: 2000
Label: Century Media
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 40:50:00

This is Nocturnal Rites' fourth album and the first to feature new vocalist Johnny Lindkvist.

Whilst the first three albums were more in the traditional speed/power metal vein, this new CD has a darker, slightly heavier and catchier approach, mostly due to the very powerful guitars. The band balances between straight up-tempo melodic metal tunes and more powerful songs in the vein of Brainstorm. The new vocalist is more like a traditional melodic heavy/hard rock singer, and he has a very solid set of pipes, certainly delivering the goods. Both songwriting and production have improved and there are killer songs from beginning to end. In my opinion this is one of the best discs of the genre this year. A warm welcome back guys.

A must for all melodic metal/powermetal fans.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Afterlife / Wake Up The Dead / The Sinners Cross / Hell And Back / The Sign / The Devil's Child / Genetic Disorder Sequence / Sacrifice / Temple Of The Dead / Hellinium

Jonny Lindqvist - vocals
Fredrik Mannberg - guitar
Nils Norberg - lead guitar
Nils Eriksson - bass
Owe Lingvall - drums
Mattias Bernhardsson - keyboards

In A Time Of Blood And Fire (1996)
Tales Of Mystery And Imagination (1997)
The Sacred Talisman (1999)
Afterlife (2000)
Shadowland (2002)
New World Messiah (2004)
Lost In Time (2005)
Grand Illusion (2005)
The 8th Sin (2007)
Phoenix (2017)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin SE

Added: January 17th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1124
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]