Vision Divine - Send Me An Angel

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Atrheia Records
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 43:08:00

Overall, Vision Divine is still about highbred speedy metal, but now with lots of progressive elements and big melodies. What's different now? Firstly, the keyboard sounds not as symphonic but more sci-fi orientated and modern, adding to the originality points going to Andrew Mc Pauls (Labyrinth). Olaf Thorsen's (Labyrinth) guitar playing reminds often of Symphony X, especially the lick-breaks where the string-bending is just so Michael Romeo. I love Michael's style so all I can say to Olaf is "Go for it." Fabio Lione's (Rhapsody) performance is faultless as always, and once again he's singing heavier from what we are used to on his Rhapsody performances. Slot Andrea Torricini (Wonderland) and Mat Stancioiu (Labyrinth) into the rhythm section and then you'll notice the line-up of Vision Divine has not changed since the release of their debut.

The CD is clocking in at only 43 minutes and is mixed with melodic, speedy, progressive, straight and ballady numbers, a variety that doesn't help the lack of direction on the album but with more listens this feeling does lessen if not subsiding completely. I guess when you start a band with such busy and high profile musicians it would be challenging to develop a working relationship that allows for more consistency? Once again they have included a cover song, this time in form of "Take On Me" a metal version of the non-metal A-HA number.

I enjoyed Send Me An Angel very much, specially the heavier progressive influenced songs such as the title-track, and the quality of play shines along with a great production. If the development of Vision Divine can continue to the next album we'll have a sure winner on our hands.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Incipit (Instr.) / Send Me An Angel / Pain / Away From You / Black & White / The Call / Taste Of A Goodbye / Apocalypse Coming / Nemesis (Instr.) / Flame Of Hate / Take On Me

Olaf Thorsen - guitars
Fabio Leone - vocals
Andrew McPauls - keyboards
Mat Stancioiu - drums
Andrea Tower Torricini - bass

Vision Divine (1999)
Send Me An Angel (2002)
Stream Of Consciousness (2004)
The Perfect Machine (2005)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin IT

Added: January 31st 2005
Reviewer: Peter Fundeis
Artist website:
Hits: 848
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]