Sherinian, Derek - Blood Of The Snake

Year of Release: 2006
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 253/SPV 40872
Format: CD
Total Time: 53:00:00

His last solo outburst, Mythology, proved to be so aptly titled that the wait for the next album featuring Derek Sherinian was at record heights amongst the keyboardist's fans. And looking at the timetable it was logical to expect the fourth Planet X's satellite, instead the finishing touches of the new band's platter were still so far away that the American musician wasted no time in assembling another marvellous guest line-up to record the fifth solo opus. So ladies and gentlemen here it comes Blood Of The Snake, a record that tends to be far heavier than its forerunners, especially for the constant presence of such forceful axe-men like Zakk Wilde and fellow metal divinity Yngwie Malmsteen. In fact the two exchange monstrous solos while battling along the riffs of fast-paced "The Monsoon" and the title-track. However both guitarists have plenty of time to display their chops on their own too, and while Zakk smokes the hard rocking number "Man With No Name" (where he also sings like a young Ozzy), Yngwie leaves no prisoners on the rightly named "Viking Massacre." Yet the most surprising guest appearance of the entire CD can be traced to the opening track, "Czar Of Steel," where ex-Dream Theater colleague John Petrucci interacts with his talented friend alongside the lines of sophisticated fusion passages. But this isn't only a guitar shred fest, and in fact Brad Gillis leaves his mark with two mellow and passionate solo spots, one inside the dreamy "Been Here Before" and the other one, "On The Moon." The latter is also the right place to taste both saxophonist Brandon Fields and the versatile skills of the record landlord, Mister Derek Sherinian (here on piano). So all in all this is a widespread masterpiece, which also features the funny cover "In The Summertime," where long-time friend Billy Idol and the notorious Slash join in to realize the most bizarre ending that we could ever imagine.

Czar Of Steel (6:01) / Man With No Name (6:55) / Phantom Shuffle (4:21) / Been Here Before (4:30) / Blood Of The Snake (6:09) / On The Moon (4:34) / The Monsoon (6:08) / Prelude To Battle (2:55) / Viking Massacre (4:58) / In The Summertime (3:51)

Derek Sherinian - keyboards
John Petrucci - guitar
Zakk Wylde - guitar
Yngwie Malmsteen - guitar
Simon Phillips - drums
Tony Franklin - bass
Brad Gillis - guitar
Brian Tichy - drums

Special Guests:-
Billy Idol - vocals
Slash - guitar

Dream Theater - A Change Of Seasons (1995)
Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity (1997)
Dream Theater - Once In A Livetime (1998)
Planet X (1998)
Platypus - When Pus Comes To Shove (1999)
Planet X - Universe (2000)
Platypus - Ice Cycles (2000)
Inertia (2001)
Planet X - Live From Oz (2001)
Planet X - Moon Babies (2002)
Black Utopia (2003)
Mythology (2004)
Blood Of The Snake (2006)
Planet X - Quantum (2007)
Molecular Heinosity (2009)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin US

Added: August 14th 2006
Reviewer: Igor Italiani

Artist website:
Hits: 1563
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]