LaBrie, James - Elements Of Persuasion

Year of Release: 2005
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 204
Format: CD
Total Time: 66:43:00

Elements Of Persuasion is the first album under the name James Labrie. In this case he asks for help from Matt Guillory, Mike Mangini and the new great Italian guitarist Marco Sfogli to perform on his solo work.

The album is more aggressive and heavy than Dream Theater's releases (if we make the exception of Train Of Thought) and the first song, "Crucify," seems to be taken from Train Of Thought with its all influences of Metallica; here the screaming-like way of singing doesn't work for James. Better a fit for his voice are other tracks like "Lost," very catchy and easy listening song, with a lot of programming and electronic piano. This piece together with "Smashed" are the only poppy ones, while the rest of the album is more metal oriented.

It needs to be mentioned that there is great production along the whole of Elements Of Persuasion, simply great!

I assure that metal fans will surely like this album; the lovers of LaBrie's more melodic works will appreciate only some parts. However, a very professional release by James Labrie and Inside Out.

Crucify (6:01) / Alone (5:37) / Freak (5:29) / Invisible (5:37) / Lost (3:41) / Undecided (5:31) / Smashed (5:34) / Pretender (5:33) / Slightly Out Of Reach (6:11) / Oblivious (5:23) / In Too Deep (6:56) / Drained (5:10)

James LaBrie - vocals
Bryan Beller - bass guitar
Matt Guillory - keyboards
Mike Mangini - drums
Marco Sfogli - guitar

Mullmuzzler (1999)
James LaBrie's Mullmuzzler 2 (2001)
Elements Of Persuasion (2005)
Prime Cuts (2008)
Static Impulse (2010)
Impermanent Resonance (2013)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: March 29th 2005
Reviewer: Davide Guidone
Artist website:
Hits: 867
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]