Voyager - Element V

Year of Release: 2004
Label: DVS Records
Catalog Number: DVS 010
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

Element V is the debut album from the Australian band Voyager and was released in November 2004. That makes this a very late review of the album. No doubt you have already read the raving critics about this album. I have always tried to review an album from the listener/fan point of view, rather than being a music critic, so I hope you will appreciate my thoughts on the album.

Honestly said, it has taken me a while to get "into" Voyager, as they truly have created a unique album. Oh sure, these guys know their classics, but at no time have they copied them. Just about every reviewer (including me) labels Element V as a prog metal album, but do not expect mindblowing double bass, furious shredding guitars and pounding bass in every song, as then you have the wrong band. On the contrary, the keyboards dominate the album pretty much. Still, personally I don?t find that annoying, it is rather an asset in creating their unique sound.

Another asset the band has is the very versatile singer Estrin, who can sing the laid-back parts with ease, but can also handle some grunts. The two guitarists in the band complement each other perfectly and both play great solos, as well as harmonies and, of course, some crunchy riffs. Interestingly, they don?t shy away from experimenting, and they even bring in a touch of the very modern Rammstein (in the small track "Towards Uncertainty").

The drums are good, but a bit in the background, so they sound a bit thin. Bass is well woven into the songs, but also quite in the back of the mix. Still, the sound is quite overwhelming and combined with the unique compositions and the fantastic play by the band, this is a must have album. Don?t worry if you are not into metal. I wouldn?t call it a metal album, rather a very driven, powerful and versatile album, with a sound unlike any other album.

So do yourself a favour and listen to this album ? you won?t be disappointed. And make sure to give it time. I did and I love the album.

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi / To The Morning Light / Cosmic Armageddon, Part I / Towards Uncertainty / The Eleventh Meridian / This Bitter Land / The Ancient Labyrinth / Miseria / Monument / The V Element / Cosmic Armageddon, Part II / Kingdoms Of Control / Time For Change / Echoes Of Old Terra

Daniel Estrin - vocals & keyboards
Emanuel Rudnicki - guitar
Mark De Vattimo - guitar
Melissa Fiocco - bass
Geoff Callaghan - drums & percussion

Element V (2004)
UniVers (2007)
Sober (ep) (2007)
I Am The ReVolution (2009)
The Meaning Of I (2011)
V (2014)
Ghost Mile (2017)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin AU

Added: March 29th 2005
Reviewer: Marcel Haster
Artist website:
Hits: 1053
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]