Silent Voices - Memory And The Frame

Year of Release: 1999
Label: independent
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

Silent Voices, hailing from Finland, was founded in spring 1995, at that point in time, with no vocalist. Knowing they needed a vocalist, they shortly arranged some auditions, but with no luck. The band was forced to find a vocalist among the band members. In '97 they released their first single "Nothing Lasts Forever" which I think was a good debut single and contains a couple of good tracks. In '98 vocalist Mike Henneken joined the band and in January '99 the band released a new demo titled The Memory And The Frame.

Silent Voices play progressive metal, with melody. The rhythm section is tight and they are clearly skilled musicians. The guitars are sharp and crunchy and the keys are present, backing up the rhythm section as well as incorporating good solo runs. Mid-ranged vocalist Henneken does a good job as well. The band claims to be influenced by bands like Dream Theater, Rush, Kyyria and Symphony X among others. The Dream Theater influence is obvious, but Silent Voices are less technical and crunchier. It took some spins to really get into the songs, but this CD is a big step from the debut single and all four tracks are of really catchy and of good quality. The melody-lines and choruses are good, and so is the instrumentation. The production is surprisingly good for a demo, coming off crisp and clear.

I was pleasantly surprised to see the development within the band and the good quality of the songs. I'm sure it won't be long till this band is signed. I wish them the best of luck!

[This review originally appeared May 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

The Memory And The Frame / Until The Dawn / Open My Eyes / Pictures Of Lifelines

Timo Kauppinen - guitars
Pasi Kauppinen - bass
Jukka-Pekka Koivisto - drums
Henrik Klingenberg - keyboards
Michael Henneken - vocals

Instrumental Demo '95 (demo) (1995)
Nothing Lasts Forever (demo) (1997)
Memory And The Frame (ep) (1999)
'You Got It/HumanCradleGrave' (single) (2000)
Chapters Of Tragedy (2002)
'On The Wings Of Rage' (single) (2004)
Infernal (2004) Building Up The Apathy (2006)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin FI

Added: February 20th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 826
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]