Stormwind - Heaven Can Wait

Year of Release: 1999
Label: independent
Catalog Number: 0060062
Format: CD
Total Time: 45:20:00

This is Swedish guitarist Thomas Wolf's third CD, following the releases of Straight From Your Heart and Stargate (re-released in 2001). Seeing the band changing band-members rather frequently it seems that Thomas has found a permanent line-up now. Luckily, he decided to stick with vocal-God Thomas Vikstr?m (Candlemass, Talk of The Town, Brazen Abbott) for his forthcoming album. Alongside Vikstr?m, we can find the talents of Kaspar Dahlqvist (Treasure Land) on keys, Patrick Johansson (Without Grief) on drums and bassist Andreas Olsson.

It's a slightly more prog metal-influenced version of Stormwind we are presented with this time around. Powerful staccato riffing, superb varied solo runs, sometimes intervened with keyboard solos, and more complex song-structures are what dominate this CD. You can hear classical elements, choirs, strings etc as well. That is not to say that the old Stormwind sound is gone. Thomas has still maintained the accessible melodic touch of the melody-lines and choruses. To sum it up this is still basically melodic heavy, with some prog influences thrown in.

Being a fan of both melodic heavy and prog metal, this is just up my alley. Thomas proves himself to be a competent songwriter and a very talented guitarist, pulling off everything from Egyptian influenced solos to more classical inspired solos. And he seems to master all techniques. Of course, vocalist Thomas Vikstr?m shines, showing his amazingly wide range. If I was to put my finger on anything, it would be that a fuller/thicker production would be preferable. This would have sounded absolutely superb with a production of more depth and power.

If you like Swedish melodic heavy metal, this should definitely appeal to you. I really enjoyed this CD, both the playing and songs. Now I look forward to the new album, and I wish Thomas all the best with his new deal with Massacre records.

[This review originally appeared May 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site (though clearly written before that) -ed.]

Shang-ri-la / Eye Of The Storm / She / Heaven Can Wait / Mountain Of Zion / Magic Night / Forever Free / Marco Polo / Ashes In The Hands / Caelum Expectare Potest

Thomas Wolf - guitars
Thomas Vikstr?m - vocals
Kaspar Dahlgvist - keyboards
Patrick Johansson - drums
Andreas Olsson - bass

Straight From Your Heart (1996)
Stargate (1998)
Heaven Can Wait (1999)
Resurrection (2000)
Reflections (2001)
Rising Symphony (2003)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin SE

Added: February 20th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 922
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]