Silent Force - The Empire Of Future

Year of Release: 2000
Label: Massacre
Catalog Number:
Format: CD
Total Time: 53:46:00

Ah, finally, vocal-God DC Cooper strikes again. This time he has teamed up with guitarist Alex Beyrodt (Sinner, ex-Sygnet) and formed a new band, Silent Force.

After DC's fantastic solo album, I was very excited to see what DC would do next. Silent Force is considerably more heavy and powerful than his previous works, both with Royal Hunt and his solo [album]. This is pure melodic heavy metal/power metal. On The Empire Of Future, DC delivers one of his finest performances ever, showing his wide range, singing with effortless ease. Although this is the heaviest stuff DC has done to date, you will still find all the harmonies, melody-lines and big choruses with layers of vocals that are characteristic for DC Cooper.

If there ever was any doubt, Alex Beyrodt proves to be a very competent guitarist, pulling off HUGE razor-sharp chords and blistering solos. The guitars are up front and I guess it's fair to say that the music is very guitar-dominated, accompanied with superb orchestrated keys and some classical influences. The rest of the rhythm section on bass, keys and drums does a great job, providing the tight and compact sound of the CD. Although it took some spins to really appreciate these songs, all songs are of very high quality, blessed with superb catchy melody-lines and choruses. The songwriting-talents of Beyrodt is absolutely worth noticing. Beyrodt also did the production, together with Achim Kohler (Sinner, Primal Fear) and Dennis Ward (PC 69, Vanden Plas, DC Cooper), which is absolutely great by the way.

This album is full of highlights from beginning to end and with Silent Force, Cooper and Beyrodt has created a killer band, which I hope we will see more to in the future. Fans of melodic power metal, go get this thingie immediately, even if that involves selling your granny to raise the money for a copy. Essential!

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

The Beginning / Live For The Day / Empire Of Future / Saints &Amp; Sinners / Tell Me Why / New Experiment / Six Past The Hour / Broken Wings / We Must Remain / I'll Be There

D C Cooper - vocals
Alex Beyrodt - guitars
Fleisch - bass
Torsten Röhre - keyboards
André Hilgers - drums

The Empire Of Future (2000)
Infatuator (2001)
Worlds Apart (2004)
Walk The Earth (2007)

Genre: Melodic Metal

Origin Va

Added: February 20th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 918
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]