Sonata Arctica - Silence

Year of Release: 2001
Label: Spinefarm
Catalog Number: SPI111
Format: CD
Total Time: 61:56:00

Sonata Arctica blasted on to the power metal scene in 1999 and gained a large and loyal following in a short space of time. Their music delivered fast-paced, speed/power metal with influences from fellow countrymen Stratovarius. Their second full-length has arrived and Silence is its name.

And silent it isn't. In fact, like its predecessors, the band covers the gamut of power metal prose - short & punchy loud numbers, ballads, as well as mid-tempo tracks. The most exciting moments of this disc is when they come out of their power metal shell and offer new elements that buck the trend of (power) metal. Most of these occur with the exceptional melding of solos - guitars and keys - similar to that of Stratovarius. "The End Of This Chapter" is a beautifully mid-paced track with a wicked storyline. It's creepy and divine. "Land Of The Free" offers a fresh approach to what will be a killer at their live gigs. A real push in the right direction to pull them out of the glut of other power metal bands.

A couple of fillers prevail in the form of the lamentable ballad "Tullalah" and the "we can write these in our sleep" short, speedy track "Black Sheep." Whether we've heard it before or they're unoriginal is debatable. They finish the disc off on not necessarily a high note, but a loooong note in the form of the eight minute epic "The Power Of One." Production is clean and verbose for this style of metal and performances are well above average. The lyrics, well, they are a little light and not the best but still, I forgive anybody writing lyrics in a language that is not their home language.

Whilst it doesn't have the firepower of their first two releases, Silence is nevertheless a fine, skillful piece of work that stands the test of time. Catchy, symphonic, and melodic - just what every fan of power metal wants.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

...Of Silence / Weballergy / False News Travel Fast / The End of This Chapter / Black Sheep / Land of the Free / Last Drop Falls / San Sebastian (revisited) / Sing In Silence / Revontulet (Instr.) / Tallulah / Wolf & Raven / Respect the Wilderness* / The Power of One

*JP bonus

Tony Kakko - vocals, keyboards
Jani Liimatainen - guitars
Marko Paasikoski - bass
Mikko Härkin - keyboards
Tommy Portimo - drums


Mikko Karmila - grand piano (4, 11)
Mika Niilonen - spoken word
Nik Van-Eckmann - male voice (1, 4, 7, 13)
Renay Gonzalez - female voice

Ecliptica (1999/2003)
Successor (ep) (2000)
Silence (2001)
Orientation (2001) (Japan Only ep)
Songs Of Silence - Live In Tokyo (2002)
Winterheart's Guild (2003)
Takatalvi (ep) (2003/2004)
Reckoning Night (2004)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin FI

Added: February 20th 2005
Reviewer: Gary Carson
Artist website:
Hits: 1030
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]