Vanden Plas - Spirit Of Live

Year of Release: 2000
Label: InsideOut Music
Catalog Number: IOMCD068
Format: CD
Total Time: 71:34:00

Although Vanden Plas has developed a wide live experience over the last years and with a number of bootlegs floating around, this is their first official live album. There is no doubt that the band has a special connection with the French fans and as a result this album is recorded in Paris, France.

First, the album is chock full of quality Vanden Plas songs, mostly taken from their latest release, Far Off Grace, but I am also very happy to see songs as "Soul Survives" from the glorious debut album being presented on this CD. Fantastic songs follow like a string of pearls, one song better than the other. The rhythm section is extremely tight and they all deliver a blistering performance, including vocalist Andy Kuntz. Also, solid appearances/performances by Don Dokken and Patrick Rondat are to be noted. The production by the band themselves is fantastic. Some might find it a bit too polished, but it is at times extremely good to hear live shows which ooze this kind of power, heaviness, clarity and emotion.

There is nothing left to do than to take one's hat off to this marvelous band of musicians. This album is a must for all prog metal fans and marks the position of Vanden Plas as one of the best prog metal bands in history. Essential!

Also released by InsideOut Music America (IOMACD 2018), playing time: 72:07

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

(US version) I Can See (4:26) / Into The Sun (7:05) / Soul Survives (9:52) / How Many Tears (10:37) / Journey To Paris (3:08) / Spirit Of Life (4:28) / Iodic Rain (6:01) / You Fly (9:22) / Far Off Grace (9:50) / Rainmaker (8:38)

(EUR version) I Can See (4:26) / Into The Sun (7:05) / Soul Survives (9:52) / How Many Tears (10:37) / Don't Miss You (3:50) / Journey To Paris (3:08) / Spirit Of Life (4:28) / Iodic Rain (6:11) / Far Off Grace (9:51) / Kiss Of Death (5:28) / Rainmaker (8:38)

Andy Kuntz - vocals
Stephan Lill - guitars
Torsten Reichert - bass
G?nter Werno - keyboards
Andres Lill ? drums


Patrick Rondat ? lead guitar ('Rainmaker')
Don Dokken ? vocals ('Kiss Of Death')

Colour Temple (1994)
Accult (1996)
The God Thing (1997)
Far Off Grace (1999)
Spirit Of Live (2000)
Beyond Daylight (2002)
Colour Temple/AcCult (special edition) (2002)
Christ 0 (2006)
The Seraphic Clockwork (2010)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: March 29th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1096
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]