Virgin Steele - The House Of Atreus Act I

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Noise Records
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 74:10:00

David DeFeis of Virgin Steele is back with another release following the brilliant Invictus. DeFeis has once again laid down some really impressive work musically, lyrically and story-wise.

The House Of Atreus is a concept album based on Greek mythology. The good/bad thing about Virgin Steele is that you usually know what you get, musically speaking. Virgin Steele offer us amazingly 22 new songs, which vary from pure heavy metal/marching metal and beautiful ballads. Stylistically this is more like old Virgin Steele, not as much Invictus sounding. The album is filled with short intros, spoken passages/piano led-passages, interludes and cuts which sort of keeps the story together. DeFeis is in fine form and comes off as better than ever. While I find this album not as accessible as its predecessor, most of the songs maintain high Virgin Steele-quality, although a few of the songs are IMO, fillers. Of course, the production, songwriting and orchestration are exceptional and add that little extra to the overall impression.

This is another great release from Virgin Steele and a must for all fans of the band. Heavy metal fans - this is a safe purchase!

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction ..) / Blaze Of Victory (The Watchman's Song) / Through The Ring Of Fire / Prelude In A Minor (The Voyage Home) / Death Darkly Closed Their Eyes (The Messenger's Song) / In Triumph Or Tragedy / Return Of The King / Flames Of The Black Star (The Arrows Of Herakles) / Narcissus / And Hectate Smiled / A Song Of Prophecy / Child Of Desolation / G Minor Invention (Descent Into Death's Twilight Kingdom) / Day Of Wrath / Great Sword Of Flame / The Gift Of Tantalos / Iphigenia In Hades / The Fire God / Garden Of Lamentation / Agony And Shame / Gate Of Kings / Via Sacra

David DeFeis - all vocals, keyboards, orchestration, keyboard bass/guitar, swords & effects
Edward Pursino - all electric guitars & bass guitars
Frank Gilchriest - drums

Virgin Steele (1983)
Guardians Of The Flame (1983)
Noble Savage (1986)
Age Of Consent (1989)
Life Among The Ruins (1994)
The Marriage Of Heaven And Hell: Part I (1995)
The Marriage Of Heaven And Hell: Part II (1996)
Invictus (1998)
The House Of Atreus: Act I (1999)
Magick Fire Music (EP) (2000)
The House Of Atreus: Act II (2000)
Hymns To Victory (2002)
The Book Of Burning (2002)
Visions Of Eden (2006)

Genre: Traditional Metal

Origin US

Added: March 29th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1074
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]