Wicked Sensation - Reflected

Year of Release: 2002
Label: MTM Music
Catalog Number: 0681-41
Format: CD
Total Time: 58:01:00

Named after Lynch Mob's debut album comes this fairly new, predominately German, band originally formed back in 1999. The band are fronted by vocalist Robert Soeterboek who has sung with both Ayreon and Lana Lane. It was in fact Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon) that first introduced Robert to the band and it is a pleasure to see Lucassen also heavily involved in the songwriting on the album, guesting alongside ex-Threshold singer Damian Wilson.

The music emphasizes huge, catchy guitars and Robert's excellent voice which comes across as David Coverdale meets James Christian (House of Lords). I've seen comparisons drawn to bands like Whitesnake and Pink Cream 69 and they are spot on. The melody lines and choruses are very good but it will take a few spins to fully appreciate these songs. I must say that I am very impressed by the high quality of the material presented. The songs are obviously very well thought through and keeping up such high quality through most of the songs on this album is an accomplishment only a few bands can pull off. We get melodic rockers in various tempos as well as a couple of ballads which makes Reflected a very dynamic album.

As well as being exposed to some of the best and most energetic hard rock material I've heard so far this year, you can add a fantastic rhythm section, a wonderful vocalist and a sparkling production by Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69). Oh, and for the record, this is not for fans of the softer side of melodic metal and AOR, this stuff rocks big time! A must!

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Magic Moments (4:55) / Someone Strong (6:07) / You Are The Answer (4:50) / Stand Tall (5:11) / High Speed Chase (3:21) / The Preacher (4:55) / Night On Fire (3:59) / Love Is Strange (5:38) / Caught In A Fantasy (3:43) / Get Down To The Business (4:19) / Let It Ride (4:23) / Joker In The Pack (4:26) / Reflected (1:55)

Robert Soeterboek - vocals
Michael Klein - guitars
Sang Vong - guitars
Martin Mannhardt - bass
Bernd Spitzner - keyboards
Björn Gref - drums

Wicked Sensation (ep) (2001)
Reflected (2002)
Exceptional (2004)
Wicked Sensation - Crystallized (2010)

Genre: Melodic Metal

Origin DE

Added: March 29th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website: www.wicked-sensation.com
Hits: 907
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]