Flower Kings, The - Unfold The Future

Year of Release: 2002
Label: InsideOut Music America
Catalog Number: IOMA 2047-2
Format: CD
Total Time: 136:35:00

On the 4th of November The Flower Kings published their new masterpiece called Unfold The Future, third double CF after Stardust We Are and Flower Power

It is a very innovative album with a meltin' pot of ideas and styles, which make it very interesting. The detractors could declare there are always the same past influences, like Yes, but this time there is a longer step ahead than the other works: the band visits the fusion world like it has never done before.

This thing is due a lot to the young Hungarian talent Zoltan Csorz' entry into the group. The new drummer has a sharp jazz mark and he has brought that spray of change, which was necessary to the band, by being more oriented to the fusion genre, without forgetting the prog-rock elements.

You can soon note the music harmony with the hypertechnical Jonas Reingold, bassist for the band since the Space Revolver album: together they make a very solid rhythmic section. They also join in writing some pieces, like "Christianopel," "Soul Vortex" and "Devil's Danceschool," which represent the most difficult moments to listen to for the old fans.

The album starts with the very long suite "The Truth Will Set You Free," awarded Song Of The Year by CRS (Classic Rock Society). This song has some echoes of Genesis, but above all you can feel Rick Wakeman's influence on Tomas Bodin, especially in organ solo. From time to time there are also references to the album Relayer and in particular, to "The Gates Of Delirium." However, it is well-performed symphonic rock, thanks to the beautiful voice of Hasse Fröberg.

"Monkey Business" is a fascinating rock piece with a wonderful wah wah guitar solo by Roine Stolt, while "Black And White" has peculiar melodies of guitars and keyboards, and an amazing final section of percussion and drums. "Silent Inferno" is a long song with Stolt's guitar in evidence and you may listen to a central part with good soloists' improvisations. Disc one comes to an end with two intense ballads, "The Navigator" and "Vox Humana."

Disc two opens with "Genie In A Bottle," which seems like something that could have been released on The Rainmaker album; but this second CD is important for the presence of Daniel Gildenlow, Pain Of Salvation's vocalist/guitarist, singing lead here on "Fast Lane," the first song entirely written by Bodin, on "Rolling The Dice," a piece more oriented to hard rock, and in the magnificent "Devil's Playground," the long final suite, in an epic-fusion-progrock style. Filling out the work are "Grand Old World," a pleasant song with Wallander's sax in evidence, and two ballads, "Man Overboard" and "Solitary Shell."

According to me, this is the best album of the year, among those I've listened to.

Also released by InsideOut (IOMCD 112/SPV 089-65392 DCD)

Disc One: The Truth Will Set You Free (30:40) / Monkey Business (4:20) / Black And White (7:40) / Christianopel (8:30) / Silent Inferno (14:25) / The Navigator (3:15) / Vox Humana (4:30)

Disc Two: Genie In A Bottle (8:10) / Fast Lane (6:35) / Grand Old World (5:10) / Soul Vortex (6:00) / Rollin The Dice (4:15) / The Devils Danceschool (3:45) / Man Overboard (3:40) / Solitary Shell (3:10) / Devils Playground (24:30)

Roine Stolt - vocals, guitars, keyboards
Hasse Fröberg - vocals
Jonas Reingold - Fender bass, fretless bass
Zoltan Csörsz - drums
Tomas Bodin - Grand piano, keyboards

Guest Musicians:

Hasse Bruniusson - percussion
Ulf Wallander - soprano saxophone

Roine Stolt - The Flower King (1994/2001/2004)
Back In The World Of Adventures (1995)
Retropolis (1996)
Stardust We Are (1997/2000)
Scanning The Greenhouse (comp) (1998)
Edition Limitée Quebec (1998) (only 700 copies!)
Flower Power (1999)
TFK fanclub disc (2000) (free CD exclusive to fanclub members only)
Alive On Planet Earth (2000)
Space Revolver (2000)
Space Revolver Special Edition (2CD set) (2000)
The Rainmaker (2001)
The Rainmaker - Special Edition (2001)
Unfold The Future (2002)
Live In New York: Official Bootleg (2002)
Fan Club CD 2002 (2002)
Fan Club CD 2004 (2004)
Adam & Eve (2004)
BetchaWannaDanceStoopid (2004)
Harvest (fan club CD) (2005)
Paradox Hotel (2006)
The Road Back Home (2007)
The Sum Of No Evil (2007)
The Sum Of No Evil (Special Edition) (2007)
Banks Of Eden (2012)

Meet The Flower Kings - Live Recording (DVD) (2003)
Instant Delivery (DVD) (2006)
Instant Delivery - Limited Edition (2CD/2DVD) (2006)

Genre: Symphonic Prog

Origin SE

Added: February 1st 2003
Reviewer: Davide Guidone

Artist website: www.flowerkings.com
Hits: 1602
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]