Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music

Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • LiveReviews
  • News Archive
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Web Links
  • Your Account

  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: IQ - Frequency
    ·CD/DVD: Spock's Beard - The Oblivion Particle
    ·CD/DVD: Spock's Beard - Brief Nocturnes And Dreamless Sleep
    ·CD/DVD: Three Wise Monkeys - Progetto Arte
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - Minstrel In The Gallery 40th Anniversary La Grande Edition
    ·Live: Marillion (October 2016)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)

    Event Calendar

    Who's Online
    There are currently, 142 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here



    Security Code:
    Security Code
    Type Security Code
    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.

    Select Interface Language:



    White Willow - Signal To Noise

    Year of Release: 2006
    Label: The Laser's Edge
    Catalog Number: LE 1046
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 51:32:00

    As with every single album this band has released, the line-up has once again changed. Although the voice of Sylvia Erichsen was present on the band's last three albums, the new Signal To Noise offering does introduce a new singer in the person of Trude Eidtang. Looking at the entire history of the band, only founding member Jacob C. Holm-Lupo has always been in the band. However, apart from the important slot of singer the nucleus of the last three albums has very much remained, including Ketil Einarsen on woodwinds, Lars Fredrik Froislie on keyboards, bass player Marthe Berger Walthinsen and Age Molthe Schou on drums. As with every single release of this glorious band, once again the sleeve design for Signal To Noise is superb, although this band surely deserves a more luxurious foldout digipack at one stage. With nine brand new compositions at your disposal it's time to give the album a well deserved spin.

    As always, it's difficult to put a well defined label onto this product, such is the talent and diversity of Holm-Lupo and friends. Our Norwegian friends do tackle a lot of melancholy, which is already present in the short instrumental track "Ghosts." In "Splinters," the rhythm here gives the whole song a more accessible nature with some Paatos accents. It's the second encounter we get with new vocalist Trude Eidtang, after she debuts during the opening track "Night Surf." Although sounding different to Sylvia Erichsen's output, Trude once again delivers the required clear and distinct voice which has become kind of a trademark in the White Willow history. Her pronunciation is perfect without any accent, whilst her range evolves from soft whispering to powerful outbursts. The whole arrangement for "Splinters" comes across as rather commercial without becoming too bland before the atmosphere is switched to a rather solemn experience. White Willow does not inundate you with endless solos, trying to incorporate all sounds in a balanced way. The analogue output by means of authentic mellotrons and moogs is in the capable hands of Lars Fredrik Froislie whom you might also know from his own band Wobbler.

    In "The Dark Road," the band displays its love for the folk environment by going for the acoustic approach in which once again mellotron lovers will have a field day. Age's almost military rhythm adds a nice unexpected twist to it all whilst backing vocals add extra spice. With "Joyride," White Willow delivers what could be their first hit single. Not only is the length perfect for radio airplay (although an edit would be even more perfect), but it's also catchy whilst it contains all the right hooks. So without compromising, the band does put an important step forward towards recognition on a larger scale. With "The Lingering," the album's longest track, the band harks back to its pure progressive past incorporating some splendid solos shared between guitar and synths. "Ghosts" contains that dark look on life, again incorporating nice Hammond and melancholic flute whilst certain synth sounds create this rather "ghostly" effect. The most powerful track certainly has to be "Dusk City," which embraces spooky and eastern elements in its rage. In fact there are a zillion and one different atmospheres all condensed into this single composition. For sure producer Tommy Hansen (Helloween, Hatesphere, D.A.D., ?) has done a great job introducing what Jacob has wanted all along: a more modern sound. In the instrumental "Chrome Dawn" Holm-Lupo even treats his guitar as if he's the twin brother of Pat Metheny. This guitar sound blends ever so well with the laidback rhythm and the sea of mellotron in the background.

    The album closes with the short instrumental "Ararat," which sees Jacob deliver a very intimate solo backed by sparse keyboards resulting in a calm dreamy piece. Whilst some of the band's earlier work evoked the atmosphere of a drizzling autumn morning, Signal To Noise contains the sunshine that occasionally peeps through the clouds delivering a most welcome warmth. This to me is still one of the finest bands in the universe and I sincerely hope this line-up can stay together for as long as possible. Luv it!

    Night Surf (4:12) / Splinters (8:36) / Ghosts (5:48) / Joyride (4:18) / The Lingering (9:25) / The Dark Road (4:17) / Chrome Dawn (7:12) / Dusk City (6:05) / Ararat (1:35)

    Trude Eidtang - vocals
    Lars Fredrik Fr?islie - keyboards
    Jacob Holm-Lupo - electric and acoustic guitars, e-bow, additional keyboards
    Marthe Berger Walthinsen - bass
    Aage Moltke Schou - drums, percussion, glockenspiel
    Ketil Einarsen - woodwinds

    Ignus Fatuus (1995)
    Ex Tenebris (1998)
    Sacrament (2000)
    Storm Season (2004)
    Signal To Noise (2006)

    Genre: Progressive Rock

    Origin NO

    Added: October 29th 2006
    Reviewer: John "Bobo" Bollenberg
    Artist website: www.whitewillow.info
    Hits: 3905
    Language: english

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2017 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.11 Seconds