Voyager - Element V

Year of Release: 2004
Label: DVS Records
Catalog Number: DVS 010
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

How can something this good fly so low as to completely avoid detection? Be advised, this material is superior even if it hasn't shown up your screens. It follows a similar flight plan as Aina and Ayreon, but it's probably closest to Symphony X. The vocalist Daniel Estrin is an established keyboardist whose style closely mimics Michael Pinnella. His voice, however, best resembles Megadeth's megastar Dave Mustane.

Their music is progressive metal, but don't let that be a turn-off. If you've boarded this genre in the past and gotten cookie-cutter customer service, let me tell you, there is no salami in their snacks or cheese in their jets. This one flies high and fast without losing its commercial passengers. It also has enough creativity, complexity and intelligence to even amuse thrill seekers and technical types alike. I highly recommend it!

While we mostly encounter metal on this transatlantic trip, we pass over many remarkable ballads, bridges, and solos. It flies on autopilot every now and then as it coasts the altitudes of neo-classical music. Then again, it has many high-octane moments that take us through some very torrential turbulence. A few of the tracks are short, but after taking the route to refuel, it is quick to engage in the action.

There is a lot of great material on this disc, but for me, the highlights are the melodic and varied metal in "The Eleventh Meridian" and the symphonic sing-along that follows in "This Bitter Land." Yet, my favorite overall, "Kingdoms Of Control," comes much later and I like it most because it cleverly incorporates ancient Egyptian riffs.

To get an idea of the leanings and influences that land in their songs, look no further than the favorite tracks of its members. Daniel lists "To The Morning Light" as his favorite while drummer, Geoff Callaghan, agrees with me and selects "The Eleventh Meridian." They have two guitarists, which gives us even more wiggle room. The first, Mark De Vattimo is torn between "Ancient Labyrinth" and "Towards Uncertainty" while the other, Emanuel "Manny" Rudnicki, jokes that they're all pretty boring. Their bassist, Melissa Fiocco, also fails to conform to the question and says her choice is "Between The Sheets." As you may have guessed by my sarcasm, this one is not on the album. Fortunately, it's expected to arrive in a future release.

In a day when progressive metal has been cannibalized and left to rot, this group resurrects it and successfully brings it back to life. Don't let Voyager escape your radar. Give this band a chance to join your fleet and book a trip on this first-class flight.

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi / To The Morning Light / Cosmic Armageddon, Part I / Towards Uncertainty / The Eleventh Meridian / This Bitter Land / The Ancient Labyrinth / Miseria / Monument / The V Element / Cosmic Armageddon, Part II / Kingdoms Of Control / Time For Change / Echoes Of Old Terra

Daniel Estrin - vocals & keyboards
Emanuel Rudnicki - guitar
Mark De Vattimo - guitar
Melissa Fiocco - bass
Geoff Callaghan - drums & percussion

Element V (2004)
UniVers (2007)
Sober (ep) (2007)
I Am The ReVolution (2009)
The Meaning Of I (2011)
V (2014)
Ghost Mile (2017)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin AU

Added: November 29th 2005
Reviewer: Joshua "Prawg Dawg" Turner
Artist website:
Hits: 1114
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]