Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music

Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account

  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - War Child 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition
    ·CD/DVD: Trans-Siberian Orchestra - The Christmas Attic
    ·CD/DVD: D/A Method, The - Janissaries
    ·CD/DVD: Transatlantic - Kaleidoscope (Special Edition)
    ·CD/DVD: Karmakanic - In A Perfect World
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)

    Event Calendar

    Who's Online
    There are currently, 46 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here



    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.

    Select Interface Language:


    NeBeLNeST - Zepto

    Year of Release: 2006
    Label: Cuneiform records
    Catalog Number: Rune 234
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 46:14:00

    First of all, thanks to the kind folks at Cuneiform Records (Thanx Joyce) for sending me NeBeLNest's new album. At first glance (listen) I was bewildered, as these guys have a somewhat avant-garde (not my strong suit) side to them, but after several listenings, the music grew on me. They come across as a mix between Soft Machine, Brand X and King Crimson (mid period plus Red) and me being an old school progfreak as well as a fan of artrock and power ditto, I have to be honest to myself, but also the band!

    Track #1, "Pillars Of Birth," is a brilliant track with fine a mellotron tapestry upon which NeBelNest builds a great theme of guitars, bass, drum and keyboards, especially Carmone (guitar) and Olivier Tejedor (keys) shine here. Track #1 glides into Track #2 in almost silence and turns out like something from a King Crimson (mid period) tune, only the ocarina (i think?!) does bring some middle eastern feeling! Track #3, ?The Old Ones," again has the great mellotron background with some powerful drumming, bass and superb guitar play (Carmona), turning out to be a great instrumental theme.

    In all, quite and interesting album, and track #6, "De Triumpho Naturae" has a fierce, fantastic lead guitar (Carmone ? again!), lots of time signatures, and superb playing from all involved!

    Now the rest is up to you, give it a whirl if you are into the above mentioned bands or if you are to very avant-garde prog music. Notice that I've avoided mentioning those tracks of the more adventurous / avant-garde character! Truly, I do not understand avant-garde music, therefore I simply cannot rate it, let alone review it! It wouldn't be fair to the band!

    So find out for yourselves, go listen to this album, please! For obviously they are great musicians; I just don't understand their musical language on the more experimental tracks!

    Tonny Larsen, who contributed this review, is the founder, reviewer, creative member and occasional interviewer at www.progplanet.com, the Danish site for progressive rock music. The text here has been slightly edited from the original -ed.

    Pillars Of Birth (6:34) / Majnuns ( 5:42) / The Old Ones (5:48) / The Things In The Walls ( 1:48) / Fabric Of Reality (3:13) / De Triumpho Naturae (8:27) / Do What Thou Wilt (10:06) / Station 9 (4:25)

    Michael Anselmi - drums, percussion
    Gregory Tejedor - bass
    Olivier Tejedor - keyboards, devices, ocarina, violin


    Sebastien Carmona - guitars (1, 3, 6)
    Cyril Malderez - guitars (2, 4, 5, 7)
    Vincent Boukefa - clarinet

    NeBeLNeST (1999)
    Nova Express (2002)
    Zepto (2006)

    Genre: RIO

    Origin FR

    Added: December 14th 2006
    Reviewer: Tonny Larsen
    Artist website: nebelnest.com
    Hits: 3349
    Language: english

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2015 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds