Molly Hatchet - 25th Anniversary Best Of Re-Recorded

Year of Release: 2004
Label: SPV
Catalog Number: 71602
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

I have always enjoyed southern rock bands like Molly Hatchet and the 25th Anniversary Best Of Re-Recorded CD is the real deal, taking the old and making it new again. Yes, it is a reprise of all of their best (plus one new track), but it's all fresh and full of piss 'n vinegar, just like all the original recordings. Their trademark warrior/sci-fi character and logo adorn the cover letting you know they have returned vigorously as they always do. Whether it is new tracks or rehashed back catalog material, this band kicks ass. Sure enough, these seventeen tracks re-announce that Molly Hatchet is still one of the best rock-boogie bands on the planet.

These boys aren't ?Flirtin' With Disaster? by releasing all of these songs again, it's a grand tribute to their wherewithal and presence in music since 1978. Damn right, this music fan is one ?Satisfied Man? after hearing this CD. Phil McCormack sounds great and Bobby Ingram just smokes on lead guitar; in fact, the entire band is like a well-oiled machine hittin' on all their cylinders. The last track, ?Boogie No More? is quite the closer for this excellent album, it rocks 'til the sun goes down ? man, what a killer track. What more can I say, the boys are back in town and they are primed and ready to steal your heart away just like they did 25 years ago when the first album came out, and that my friends is something to hold close to your heart.

Flirtin' With Disaster / Bounty Hunter / Gator Country-(Dixie) / Whiskey Man / Fall Of The Peacemakers / Satisfied Man / Beatin' The Odds / One Man's Pleasure / Big Apple / The Creeper / Jukin' City / Goodbye To Love / Bloody Reunion / 25th Anniversary Song / Epitaph/Memories/The Great Beyond / Dreams I'll Never See / Boogie No More

Bobby Ingram ? lead and acoustic guitars, background vocals
Phil McCormack - lead vocals and harmonies
John Galvin - keyboards, programming and background vocals
Russ Maxwell - lead and rhythm guitars
J.J. Strickland - bass and background vocals
Shawn Beamer - drums and percussion

Molly Hatchet (1978)
Flirtin' With Disaster (1979/2001*)
Beatin' The Odds (1980)
Take No Prisoners (1981)
No Guts ... No Glory (1983, Epic)
No Guts ... No Glory (1983, Sony)
Dead Is Done (1984)
Double Trouble Live (1984)
Greatest Hits (1985/2001*)
Lightning Strikes Twice (1989)
Cut To The Bone (1993)
Devil's Canyon (1996)
Silent Reign Of Heroes (1998)
Super Hits (1998)
Live At The Agora Ballroom, Atlanta, Georgia... (2000)
Kingdom Of XII (2000)
Live (2002)
Locked And Loaded (2003)
Greatest Hits Live (2003)
The Essential Molly Hatchet (2003)
25th Anniversary Best Of Re-Recorded (2004)

Genre: Rock

Origin US

Added: January 11th 2004
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 811
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]