Magnitude Nine - Decoding The Soul

Year of Release: 2003
Label: InsideOut Music
Catalog Number: IOMCD 151/ SPV 085-6054
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:13:00

In this release, the band was aiming for something that was more accessible to nu-metal fans in hopes to get some radio play. In their attempt they made something that was true to their progressive roots while providing something much more mainstream. Right off the bat, the first track is gut-wrenching, heart-stopping, foot-stomping madness. Considering the audience this album was geared towards, this made the most sense as the album opener.

Decoding The Soul features the guitar shredder, Rob Johnson, along with past Psycho Drama frontman Corey Brown on vocals. The supporting cast includes John Homan on drums, Ian Ringler on bass, and Joseph Anastacio Glean on keys.

Rob is en fuego big-time on this release. He struts his technical prowess with beaucoup boatloads of melodic melodies and riffs. Corey's voice integrates well as he provides just the right amount of rock and passion for this style of music.

As the album progressives, it fittingly becomes more progressive and tones down a bit. Personally, I prefer the later tracks, but speaking with nu-metal fans alike, I was told the opener was more along their cup of tea. Regardless of what side of the tracks you live on, trust me, there will be something there to tantalize your ear drums.

There is really no weak track. Depending on your tastes, the highlights could be any of the ten songs found on the album, all being fair game for the airwaves. Most of the songs hover around five minutes, making them a radio edit away from more commercial clientele.

As a whole, the album is something more along the lines of melodic metal rather than progressive or nu-metal. This makes it somewhat comparable to Dream Theater's Train Of Thought or Queensryche's Tribe with a tinge of Survivor's "Eye Of The Tiger" and a smidgen of Risk-era Megadeth.

Like its name, this album registers a solid 9 on the Richter scale, which is an A in this professor's grade book.

Released in North America by InsideOut Music America (IOMA 2072)

New Dimension (4:31) / Lies Within The Truth (6:03) / Facing The Unknown (5:16) / To Find A Reason (5:28) / Walk Through The Fire (4:50) / Dead In Their Tracks (4:05) / Changes (5:22) / Torn (3:32) / Thirty Days Of Night (3:35) / Sands Of Time (3:31)

John Homan - drums
Ian Ringler - bass
Corey Brown - vocals
Rob Johnson - guitars
Joseph Anastacio Glean - keyboards

Chaos To Control (1998)
Reality In Focus (2001)
Decoding The Soul (2003)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: March 7th 2004
Reviewer: Joshua "Prawg Dawg" Turner
Artist website:
Hits: 877
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]