Blackfield - Blackfield

Year of Release: 2004
Label: Snapper music
Catalog Number: SMACD880
Format: CD
Total Time: 36:59:00

One of the big surprises (for me) in 2004, was the co-operation of music genius Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree, No-Man, Opeth, and several other fine productions) and unknown (to me) Israeli musician Aviv Geffen ? which spawned this fabulous album called Blackfield.

And I tell you right now, this album is mesmerizing, both in lyrics and music.

Any friend of Porcupine Tree ... should own and cherish this excellent excursion into the realm of beautiful words and music. Actually anyone into great music and fine lyrics should seek this one out, as I promise you, after 3- 4 spins you will get caught by the maelstrom of these finely executed and crafted prog/pop tunes.

What you get here are: acoustic guitars, electric power chords, Mellotron, fantastic vocals, E-bow, piano, drums, bass, slide-guitar, real strings (courtesy of the Illusion quartet) and add to that, out of this world songwriting and arrangements.

Listen to "Lullaby"... with the beautiful piano intro ... then lean back and let the lyrics sink into your mind ...whoa!!!

Or try out the wonderful soothing theme (and singing) of "Cloudy Now" ... wow what a song!! I dare you not to sing along on this one after a few listenings!!

This is, without any doubt, a MASTERPIECE. It belongs in every prog fan's collection and, may I add, anyone who is just the slightest bit into music that bares resemblance to quality and real music, should go buy this GEM!!!

On a final note ... the cover notes say 10 tracks ... however my copy has 3 "hidden" tracks... Yes ... that's right, they're great as well!! So 13 tracks in all ... what a treat ... what an album....what a chance for you to own some of the most beautiful music written in 2004 (and beyond) ... thanks to my mate Leo for giving me this GEM!!!

[Blackfield has been released in various versions for various regions. In Israel, by Helicon/Universal (#HL8199, 10 tracks); in North America by Koch (KOC-CD-9685, 13 tracks); a 2LP version by Gates Of Dawn (#GOD008), and another version by Snapper (SDPCD199) without the bonus tracks. And it seems there are packaging variations to go along with the various CD formats...]

Tonny Larsen, who contributed this review, is the founder, reviewer, creative member and occasional interviewer at, the Danish site for progressive rock music. The text here has been slightly edited from the original -ed.

Open Mind (3:49) / Blackfield (4:06) / Glow (4:00) / Scars (3:57) / Lullaby (3:29) / Pain (3:47) / Summer (4:12) / Cloudy Now (3:34) / The Hole In Me ( 2:47) / Hello ( 3:09) / Bonus Tracks: Perfect World (3:53) / Where Is My Love? (3:01) / Cloudy Now - Live (3:44)

Plus: video for track Blackfield

Steven Wilson - guitars, keys, vocals
Avid Geffen - guitars, keys, vocals
Chris Maitland - drums
Gavin Harrison - drums
Illusion Quartet - strings (conducted by Daniel Solomon)

Blackfield (2004)
Blackfield II (2007)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: December 29th 2006
Reviewer: Tonny Larsen
Artist website:
Hits: 1807
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]