Prösper - Our Own EP

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Independent
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 16:00:00

Prösper is young and vibrant power-pop-alternative-rock trio with a truckload of talent in the ideal position for growth and maturity. I cannot say that about every band I hear these days. The fact that they are a rock trio certainly does not leave a lot to the imagination, but for these youngsters there is nothing but hope and a full-length album down the road to really put them over the top and get them some attention. This EP does the job though; it is a sample for what lies ahead.

Our Own EP beams with the pride of their accomplishments in the studio, and they should be proud. An early Joe Jackson came to mind a few times while absorbing the general tone and attitude of this music; it pops and crackles with the youthful abandon of Indie rock. It is all harnessed and delivered with passion and feeling via vocals and instrumentation that is quite impressive for such young talent.

The one song that really got my attention was the one without words, the entirely instrumental outing titled "Our Own Instrumental." This is a fantastic showcase for the band, having already proven that they could construct a tune and sing with the previous three songs, this provided a killer look into the other side of their world, complete with all the hooks to prompt you to play it over and over. I like what I hear and look forward to the future for this band.

[Since the release of the EP, Prösper have a new drummer, Mike -ed.]

Blonde Bombshell (3:52) / Our Own (5:07) / Cabride (4:09) / Our Own Instrumental (Secret Song)

Shiva -vocals, drums
Sean Teleo - guitar
Karl (AKA 'KC') Coepke - bass

Our Own EP

Genre: Other

Origin US

Added: March 22nd 2004
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 780
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]