Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 106 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Hidria Spacefolk - Symbiosis


    Year of Release: 2002
    Label: Silence
    Catalog Number: SLC-009
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 51:25:00

    Blending Middle Eastern motifs with driving backbeats, steady doses of guitar, keyboards and flute lead you on a musical journey. Throughout you will find other interesting sounds such as what sounds to be a jaw harp, xylophone, and sequenced keyboard sounds. Symbiosis is an all-instrumental offering that keeps the listener's attention. This is not the meandering keyboard excursions of old, but solid rock instrumentals with jam band mentality. As I listen to the songs develop, they usually stay focused on a particular musical idea, and get expanded upon by the lead instrument or instruments.

    Who is listening to Hidria Spacefolk? I can say for almost certain that no one has heard them on the radio. What motivates a band to record this type of music these days? I just wonder about these things as I listen to the band. I guess it is easy to draw comparisons to the Ozrics, so I will since I don't have another reference point. Though it may have the feel of a jam band, there are definite melodies, often played in unison, yet the music sounds as if it could really open up and translate well in a live setting. Symbiosis is a very enjoyable CD, and I look forward to seeing the band at NEARfest 04.


    Tracklisting:
    Terra Hidria I (7:03) Terra Hidria II (1:39) Kaneh Bosm (5:12) Kaikados (6:17) Nasha Universo (5:15) Jahwarp (5:47) Agents Entropos (3:12) J-Mantra (5:14) Pangaia (11:41)

    Musicians:
    Mikko Happo ? guitar
    Smi Virkkala ? guitar, synthesizer
    Kimmo Dammert ? bass
    Janne Lounatvuori ? keyboards
    Teemu Kilponen ? drums
    Matti Lehikoinen - percussion

    Discography:
    Hidria Spacefolk (2001)
    Symbiosis (2002)

    Genre: Psychedelic/Space Rock

    Origin FI

    Added: June 7th 2004
    Reviewer: Eric Porter

    Artist website: www.hidriaspacefolk.st
    Hits: 561
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds