IQ - Dark Matter

Year of Release: 2004
Label: Giant Electric Pea
Catalog Number: GEPCD 1034
Format: CD
Total Time: 52:18:00

This review is excerpted from Clayton's July 5, 2004 The Prog Life column found here -ed.

IQ is one of my favorite neo-prog groups, so it's with great glee that I welcome each new release. The latest, Dark Matter, does not disappoint. The music's style is along the same vein as the group's last few releases, so don't expect any surprises, just another set of well-written, Genesis-inspired tunes, with enough complexity to please classic-era prog lovers. Each track features multiple sections that slip seamlessly from upbeat fare into atmospheric sections and back again, carrying along with them the track?s basic themes. Two lengthy tracks bookend the album, the first of which is nearly 12 minutes and the last of which comes in at a whopping 25 minutes.

The guitar playing throughout is reminiscent of Steve Hackett, as are the keyboards. (The closing section of the first track, "Sacred Sound," would fit perfectly on a Genesis album. The same can be said for various other moments on the album.) Peter Nicholls' pleasant vocals whisper through the dark moments, before soaring with gorgeous melodies. Melody has always been one of IQ's strongest suits, and Dark Matter's wonderful songs are no exception.

Besides Nicholls, the rest of the band -- Paul Cook (Drums), Mike Holmes (Guitars and keyboards), John Jowitt (Bass guitar and bass pedals), and Martin Orford (Keyboards and backing vocals) -- return to keep whole the usual roster of players. Together they prove that IQ is still one of the top purveyors of so-called neo-prog. I'll be playing this one a lot.

Released in North America by InsideOut Music America (INO-60802) and in Europe by InsideOutMusic (SPV 085-60802 CD)

Sacred Sound (11:40) / Red Dust Shadow (5:53) / You Never Will (4:54) / Born Brilliant (5:20) / Harvest Of Souls (24:29)

Paul Cook - drums, percussion
Michael Holmes - electric and acoustic guitars, ebow
John Jowitt - bass guitar, backing vocals
Peter Nicholls - all vocals
Martin Orford - keyboards, backing vocals

Tales From The Lush Attic (1983)
The Wake (1985)
Nine In A Pond Is Here (1985)
Living Proof (1986)
Nomzamo (1987)
Are You Sitting Comfortably? (1989)
J'ai Pollette D'arnu (1991)
Ever (1994)
Forever Live (1996)
Subterranea (1997)
Seven Stories Into 98 (1998)
The Lost Attic (1998)
Subterranea: The Concert (2000)
The Seventh House (2001)
The Archive Collection - IQ20 (2003)
Dark Matter (2004)
Frequency Tour CD 1 (2008)
Frequency Tour CD 2 (2008)
Frequency (2009)
The Wake: Live At De Boerderij (2010)
The Wake (Deluxe Edition) (2010)
Re:Mixed (2011)
The Archive Collection - IQ30 (2012)
Tales From The Lush Attic 2013 Remix (2013)
The Road Of Bones (2014)
Live On The Road Of Bones (2016)

Subterranea: The Concert Video (VHS) (2000)
Subterranea: The Concert DVD (DVD) (2002)
IQ20 - The Twentieth Anniversary Show (DVD) (2004)
Live From London (DVD) (2005)
Stage (DVD) (2006)
Forever Live (DVD) (2007)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: July 5th 2004
Reviewer: Clayton Walnum
Artist website:
Hits: 1111
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]