Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music

Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • LiveReviews
  • News Archive
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Web Links
  • Your Account

  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: IQ - Frequency
    ·CD/DVD: Spock's Beard - The Oblivion Particle
    ·CD/DVD: Spock's Beard - Brief Nocturnes And Dreamless Sleep
    ·CD/DVD: Three Wise Monkeys - Progetto Arte
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - Minstrel In The Gallery 40th Anniversary La Grande Edition
    ·Live: Marillion (October 2016)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)

    Event Calendar

    Who's Online
    There are currently, 144 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here



    Security Code:
    Security Code
    Type Security Code
    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.

    Select Interface Language:



    Within Temptation - The Heart Of Everything

    Year of Release: 2007
    Label: SonyBMG
    Catalog Number: 88697066242
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 61:05:00

    Sometime in 1997, a young band released their debut album, entitled Enter. The music could be described as Gothic Metal: Heavy guitars, pounding drums, grunts and operatic vocals, sung by a beautiful lady in an equally beautiful dress; you know ... the works. Ten years later, this young band has evolved into one of the best selling bands in the Netherlands and rapidly growing in the rest of Europe! How did this happen? Well, it all started with the release of their third album, Mother Earth. Here the band changed its musical direction and delivered a very melodic album, without the grunts. Six months after the release of the single "Ice Queen," the song was picked up on the radio and it became a hit.

    And now, ten years later, Within Temptation, comes with their brand new album: The Heart Of Everything. I must admit, I was very anxious about this album. Although I really enjoyed the previous one, The Silent Force, I was afraid the band, now signed to a major label, slowly would turn into a pop band. But fortunately that is not the case with The Heart Of Everything. Although the band is moving away from the Gothic Metal sound, they have moved in a different direction, showing that Sharon den Adel does not just have a beautiful high voice, but can sing so much more.

    Of course, the most important trademark of the band will remain: the beautiful dresses Sharon wears. On the cover of the album, she again is pictured in a beautiful white dress. This front cover symbolizes what the music is about: reflecting on yourself and what you find important in life. The Heart Of Everything is not a concept album, but still this theme runs through all songs.

    Opening track "The Howling" really kicks in with the familiar WT sound, but a bad ass sounding Sharon. This track was written especially for the online game The Chronicles Of Spellborn. "What Have You Done" is the first single off the album and it features Life of Agony frontman Keith Caputo. Strong, rocking song, with a few hints of the former WT album. No surprise to find this single tops several charts in Europe! One of my favourite songs is "Our Solemn Hour," which has epic orchestrations and passionate vocals. Frankly speaking, the album has lots to offer. I enjoy the lush keyboard parts by Martijn Spierenburg and the excellent guitar solos by Ruud Jolie. Another absolute highlight of the album is the title track, "The Heart Of Everything." There everything comes together and Sharon has an edge to her voice that I like. The last song I'll mention is "The Cross," which has some Tori Amos influences and shows WT is willing to tread different paths.

    In the end I have to say The Heart Of Everything is a solid album. It did not blow me away like Mother Earth did, but is a balanced and well written album. As said, the band is moving away from the typical Gothic Metal sound, but don't expect a totally different sound. It still is very much Within Temptation as we know it. But let's hope the success of this album will not keep them locked in this sound, but the band still will try different and new things.

    The Japanese edition adds 3 bonus tracks: "What Have You Done (Rock Mix)," "See Who I Am (Live)" and "Deceiver Of Fools (Live)." A special edition CD/DVD comes with 4 bonus audio tracks, "What Have You Done (Rock Mix)," "What Have You Done (Acoustic)," "Ice Queen (Acoustic)," and "Stand My Ground (Acoustic)" (the latter 3 recorded live at a Kerrang! magazine event on April 13, 2007; the DVD includes a live show from Japan (9 tracks) plus 5 music videos.

    The Howling (5:33) / What Have You Done (5:13) / Frozen (4:28) / Our Solemn Hour (5:35) / The Heart Of Everything (4:51) / Hands Of Sorrow (4:17) / The Cross (5:36) / Final Destination (4:51) / All I Need (4:43) / The Truth Beneath The Rose (7:05) / Forgiven (4:54)/ What Have You Done (Rock Mix) (3:56)

    Sharon den Adel - vocals
    Robert Westerholt - electric guitars
    Martijn Spierenburg - keyboards
    Stephen van Haestregt - drums
    Jeroen van Veen - bass guitars
    Ruud Jolie - mandolin, acoustic and electric guitars; backing vocals (3, 7)


    Keith Caputo - vocals (2)
    Jonas Pap - cello (7, 9, 11)
    Tom Salisbury - piano (2, 9, 11)
    Siard de Jong - fiddle (6, 11)

    Enter (1997)
    The Dance (EP) (1997)
    Mother Earth (2001)
    Live On Air (2002)
    The Silent Force (2005)
    The Heart Of Everything (2007)
    See Who I Am (EP) (2007)
    The Howling (EP) (2007)
    All I Need (EP) (2007)
    Black Symphony (2008)
    An Acoustic Night At The Theatre (2009)

    Mother Earth Single (DVD) (2000)
    Mother Earth Tour (DVD) (2002)
    Stand My Ground (DVD) (2004)
    The Silent Force Tour (DVD) (2005)
    Black Symphony (DVD) (2008)

    Genre: Melodic Metal

    Origin NL

    Added: March 22nd 2007
    Reviewer: Marcel Haster
    Artist website: www.within-temptation.com
    Hits: 2288
    Language: english

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2017 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.13 Seconds