Dominici - O3 A Trilogy - Part 2

Year of Release: 2007
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: SPV 79342 IOMCD 272
Format: CD
Total Time: 54:30:00

Following his 2005 release, O3 A Trilogy - Part 1, Charlie Dominci, former frontman for Dream Theater (circa 1989) makes a prominent comeback with Part 2, a powerful melodic progressive metal CD that incorporates incredible musicianship and intense songwriting with an interesting storyline.

Producer and vocalist, Dominici, penned the lyrics and wrote the music along with his backing players that consist of progressive metal virtuosos hailing from Italy: Brian Maillard (guitars), Americo Rigoldi (keyboards), Riccardo eRik Atzeni (bass) and Yan Maillard (drums).

Dominici?s vocals are powerful and versatile ranging in styles from to Geoff Tate, lead vocals for Queensr?che, to a baritone Renaissance timbre. The opening instrumental track, "The Monster," builds up to a crescendo that introduces guitarist, Brian Maillard's shred-work, who at times on the album, mixes in hints of Satriani and Zappa. On "Nowhere To Hide," again Maillard's guitar work is executed perfectly; playing beautiful melodies with vibrato and then switching gears to shred shifting the song into grind overdrive. Throughout the whole album, keyboardist Rigoldi creates a theatrical atmosphere with extraordinary key compositions and drummer Yan Maillard's machine gun drumming accents the intricate music while keeping the players tight and timed. "The Cop" begins with a futuristic drum march and Atenzi?s bass levels are turned up making his consistent well-rounded bass notes heard.

Dominci's polished progressive sound hits the heights of noted acts such as Symphony X, Braindance and Ayreon. Along with the prog community, the music industry and mainstream audiences should recognize Dominici?s work, too.

Alicyn Leigh is a Pets Columnist, Photographer and Freelance Entertainment Writer for The Long Island Press and Pres. Gothicat Entertainment U.S.A.

The Monster (8:28) / Nowhere To Hide (5:06) / Captured (4:16) / Greed, The Evil Seed (7:27) / School Of Pain (7:23) / The Calling (6:40) / The Real Life (3:28) / The Cop (4:49) / A New Hope (6:53)

Charlie Dominici - vocals
Brian Maillard - guitar
Yan Maillard - drums
Americo Rigoldi - keyboards
Riccardo Erik Atzeni - bass

O3 A Trilogy - Part 1 (2005)
O3 A Trilogy - Part 2 (2007)
O3 A Trilogy - Part 3 (2009)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: March 31st 2007
Reviewer: Alicyn Leigh

Artist website:
Hits: 1269
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]