Book Of Reflections - Book Of Reflections

Year of Release: 2004
Label: Lion Music
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 51:34:00

Book Of Reflections is Lion Music's new all-star metal project. This is how the accompanying press release describes Book of Reflections. The cast is formed by no less than 4 vocalists: Andy Engberg (SectionA), Mikael Holm (Winterlong), Torgny Stjängerfelt (Condition Red) and Hubi Meisel (ex-Dreamscape). Keyboards by Vitalij Kuprij, on drums Eddie Sledgehammer (would that be his real name?) and on guitars Rusty Cooley. This groups serves under Captain Lars Eric Mattsson, who plays bass, guitars and keyboards and wrote the songs.

So, what can we expect from such a talented bunch? It is described in the press release as high energy symphonic / neo-classical power metal. And yes, it is powerful, fast paced music, with heavy guitars and pounding drums. The solos by Mattsson and Cooley are good, but for some reason I get the impression they are going on automatic pilot. Everything on the album is really good, but the end result is a sound you have heard already many times.

With so many releases, I have noticed many power metal fans get bored, as all bands start to sound the same. So the problem here is not the talents of the musicians and singers involved, but rather the songwriting. I am still waiting for an album that will really knock me off my feet. So, whether you want to buy Book of Reflections is left to your taste and budget. Personally, I prefer the latest Vanden Plas over this one.

Similar bands: Vanden Plas

[This review originally appeared August 2004 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Phoenix / Guardian Of Time / Going Through The Motions / Tearing Down / Slippin'Away / Only One Truth / Children Of The Rainbow / You're Not Alone / Book Of Reflections / Let It Go / Blood From A Stone

Andy Engberg - vocals
Mikael Holm - vocals
Hubi Meisel - vocals
Torgny Stjärnfelt - vocals
Lars Eric Mattsson - keyboards, guitars, bass
Vitalij Kuprij - keyboards
Rusty Cooley - guitars
Eddie Sledgehammer - drums
Mikaela Mattsson ? vocals

Book Of Reflections (2004)
Chapter II: Unfold The Future (2006)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin VA

Added: November 27th 2004
Reviewer: Marcel Haster
Artist website:
Hits: 1068
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]