Entwine - Gone

Year of Release: 2001
Label: Spikefarm/Spinefarm
Catalog Number: NAULA013
Format: CD
Total Time: 51:00:00

Those familiar with bands such as To/Die/For, HIM, Sentenced, Amorphis, and Charon and are desperate for more will find solace with Entwine's second disc Gone.

Gothic metal, with its sorrowful sounds and depressing lyrics, is one style of music that I actually find very moving. And Entwine have both by the bucketloads. This is very melody-oriented, melancholic metal with a deep, rich sound that is very visual. Part of this comes via mournful vocalist Mika Tauriainen who sounds similar in style to To/Die/For vocalist Jape Peratalo. I admit, he doesn't stretch himself too much, but the music doesn't require it. Songs such as "Snow White Suicide" and "New Dawn" are more energetic than most, whilst "Thru The Darkness" has elements of My Dying Bride. The whole keyboard sound is lush and wonderfully arranged (by Riita Heikkonen) and the guitars are deep and groove oriented and when they are on top of their music then it becomes a very moody and haunting experience. They don't try to overwhelm the listener with long or technical passages. It's all rather gloomy and it's good they don't go overboard (so to speak).

Melodic Gothic metal is creating its own fan base and this is more than a worthy addition if you like the bands mentioned in the introduction.

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
Losing The Ground / Snow White Suicide / Closer (My Love) / New Dawn / Grace / Silence Is Killing Me / Thru The Darkness / Blood Of Your Soul

Mika Tauriainen - vocals
Tom Mikkola - guitars
Joni Miettenen - bass
Riitta Heikkonen - keyboards
Aksu Hanttu - drums

The Treasures Within Hearts (1999)
Gone (2001)
Time Of Despair (2002)
DiEversity (2004)
Sliver (ep) (2005)
Fatal Design (2006)

Genre: Other

Origin FI

Added: December 18th 2004
Reviewer: Gary Carson
Artist website: www.entwine.org
Hits: 1117
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]