Evergrey - In Search Of Truth

Year of Release: 2001
Label: InsideOut Music America
Catalog Number: IOMA 2025-2
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:22:00

This is the third offering from Sweden-based Evergrey and another long awaited CD that will surely be on many top 10 lists at the end of this year. Following the magnificent second album, Solitude*Dominance*Tragedy, and the replacement of several band members, I really thought it would be a tough task to top that album. Was I wrong or what?

With the new album Evergrey takes the style of Solitude*Dominance*Tragedy to another level. Although the style is somewhat the same, they have taken everything that was so great about that album and improved it to perfection. First off, the production is better, it's richer, fuller, more dynamic and more powerful. And this is a really important factor for the band to really shine. Tom's powerful, emotional vocals are absolutely stunning. He has never sounded better. The tasty guitars are up front and very powerful. Like the one that makes you to turn up the volume to feel the guitars blasting from the speakers, pounding at your chest. And to top the brick wall of sound there are some excellent floating and piano like keys. The rhythm section is extremely tight and it seems the replacement of band members has only made Evergrey stronger.

The songwriting is top notch and there is not one single weak song to be found. In fact I consider each track to be just as strong as the other, although I definitely have my personal favourites. I am completely blown away by the talent that lies within this band and their scent for immense melodies. To top it all the artwork is excellent and oh, did I mention that this is a concept album? In my opinion you can't ask for more in an album. If you like semi-progressive, melodic power metal, with moody and atmospheric undertones, Evergrey is the answer to your prayers. Pure perfection!

Released in Europe by InsideOut (SPV 085-41652 CD IOMCD081)

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
The Masterplan (4:46) / Rulers Of The Mind (5:57) / Watching The Skies (6:16) / State Of Paralysis (2:13) / The Encounter (4:38) / Mark Of The Triangle (6:22) / Dark Waters (6:02) / Different Worlds (5:29) / Misled (5:59)

Tom Englund - vocals, guitar
Henrik Danhage - guitars
Michael Hakansson - bass
Patrick Carlsson -drums
Sven Karlsson - keyboards

The Dark Discovery (1998)
Solitude*Dominance*Tragedy (1999)
In Search Of Truth (2001)
Recreation Day (2003)
Inner Circle (2004)
The Dark Discovery - Special Edition (2004)
Solitude*Dominance*Tragedy - Special Edition (2004)
A Night To Remember - Live 2004 (2005)
Monday Morning Apocalypse (2006)
Torn (2008)
Glorious Collision (2011)
Hymns For The Broken (2014)
The Storm Within (2016)

A Night To Remember - Live 2004 (DVD) (2005)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin SE

Added: December 18th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website: www.evergrey.net
Hits: 1219
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]