Fifth Season - Journey Through An Open Mind

Year of Release: 1997
Label: Independent
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 43:42:00

Fifth Season was formed back in 1995 following their transformation from highly acclaimed quartet Inner Sanctum, where they released three successful demos. Since 1995 the band has released one demo, one EP and finally Journey Through An Open Mind as their debut album.

Fifth Season blend prog metal with technical metal. The music is heavy, yet very technical and with a broad range of influences blended into the music. The band has also made room for more evocative and mellow parts, which combined with the use of acoustic guitars, great varied keyboards and the superb, emotive mid-ranged vocals, create a special atmosphere to the songs. The band is very competent as musicians and songwriters, and although the music is at times very technical and complex, the harmonies, the melody- and vocal-lines are beautifully melodic and irresistible. Although I can hear influences of bands such as Rush, Fates Warning and probably a dozen other prog metal bands, it's hard to compare them to any specific bands, as they clearly have found their own style and direction. Comparing them to a specific band would not be fair as there are so much more to this music than that. The production is decent and all instruments are clear and distinct, but on the other hand, there are lots of room for improvement in the production overall.

This is a must for every fan of prog- and technical metal. Journey Through An Open Mind is a truly unique CD. Fifth Season represent the finest of tech/prog metal to come out of UK in a long time.

According to the BNR Metal Pages, the band disbanded, though Knight, Ray and Jackson have regrouped as D-Void, releasing a demo, Down In Codes, an EP, The Groovetube, and their latest EP, Making Waves. -ed.]

[This review originally appeared March 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
Shadows Of Hope / A Little Rain (Must Fall) / Tomorrow's Conscience / Voice For Insecurity / Of Profit To The Wise / Again / Age Of Light / Birth Of Acquisition / Enemy Unseen

John Knight - vocals
David Ray - guitars
Kevin Jackson - bass
Jed Dawkins - drums

Journey Through An Open Mind (1997)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin UK

Added: December 18th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1276
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]