Dali's Dilemma - Manifesto For Futurism

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Magna Carta
Catalog Number: MA-9024
Format: CD
Total Time: 49:30:00

This is perhaps the most anticipated release of 1999 for die-hard prog metal fans. Finally this masterpiece of a CD from the highly talented five-piece Dali's Dilemma (formerly Chaos Theory) has been released. As many of you know, Dali's Dilemma feature the talents Of Matt Guillory (k) who is an up and coming star. He has already contributed on many recent CDs such as Zero Hour, James Murphy, Working Man project, Explorer's Club, and various Shrapnel CDs.

The CD has 10 songs and clocks in at approximately 51 minutes. Stylewise, this is progressive metal in the tradition of early Dream Theater and Zero Hour where each band member is a master of their instruments. Besides the awesome vocals of Matthew Bradley, the songs are focused around the heavy guitars of Patrick Reyes and the majestic keys of Matt Guillory which is absolutely stunning. Reyes pulls off technical finesse and catchy powerful staccato riffs on song after song. And I'm very impressed by the variation in Guillory's sound and playing. Also worth mentioning is the powerful and technical drumming of Jeremy Colson, and the virtuous bass playing of Steve Reyes which make this five-piece technically complete. Matthew Bradley's vocals (whom you can also hear on one Explorer's Club song) is strong and powerful, and the best I've heard in a long time.

Besides the obvious advantage of being technically complete is the fact that these guys show a very mature side as songwriters and has the ability of making extremely strong melodies and melodylines. There is not one single bad track on this CD with each song a powerful, melodic and technical masterpiece that reflects a very confident band. The production is excellent but some might find it a bit polished compared to the demos from the Chaos Theory days.

This CD is a must for all fans of prog metal and stand out as one of the best prog metal albums ever released. I'm full of words of praise about this band and can't wait to hear what they can come up with in the future. A must!

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
Within A Stare (5:48) / Miracles In Yesteryear (7:09) / Despite The Waves (5:49) / Whispers (2:04) / Ashen Days (5:27) / Andromeda Sunrise (2:00) / This Time Around (4:50) / Hills of Memory (4:47) / Can't You See (5:15) / Living In Fear (7:41)

Matthew Bradley - vocals
Patrick Reyes - guitars
Jeremy Colson - drums
Steve Reyes - bass
Matt Guillory - keyboards

Manifesto For Futurism (1999)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin US

Added: December 11th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1065
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]