Domain - The Artefact

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Nightmare Records
Catalog Number: NMR-99752
Format: CD
Total Time: 58:56:00

If I am correct, this is 's 7th album and follow up to their comeback album A Million Light Years From Home released last year. They also did an EP titled New Horizons between these last two albums, which sadly passed me by. Their comeback album A Million Light Years From Home was a decent affair, although I would expect more of a comeback album. I am pleased to see though that the band is very productive and already out with the follow up.

Domain has slightly toughened up their act since the last CD, although still standing with both feet in the hard rock/melodic metal genre. The music is as always quite guitar driven, with guitarist and mastermind Axel Ritt providing great riffs and solos. The keys are also quite present and vocalist Carsten Schulz (Ex-Forever) has a solid mid-ranged voice and delivers a good performance. The CD balances nicely between heavier melodic metal tracks and more standard hard rock songs. They even try some new things such as the track "Mystery Stone" which has some Gary Moore-ish folk tones to it and an epic choir chorus. They also do a decent cover of "Day Tripper" by The Beatles.

There are many good songs on this CD, although I feel there are too many average songs while we wait for the good tracks, which as a whole makes an uneven album. I still feel The Artefact is a step in the right direction from A Million Light Years From Home though, but they would benefit by dropping 3 average tracks and present 10 songs instead.

Still, I enjoy this CD as there are many good tracks here and the production is strong, which is always a big plus. Fans of bands like Pretty Maids, Bonfire, Jaded Heart etc will find a lot to appreciate. Hopefully the next CD will be more even.

Similar to: Pretty Maids, Jaded Heart

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
Discover The Artefact (0:53) / Charade (4:39) / Mystery Stone (4:12) / Day Tripper (4:28) / Strangers From The Heart (4:45) / Blackhole Visions (5:04) / Seasons (The Circles Around The Moon) (5:35) / Don't Count On Love (4:40) / Spirit Of The Sun (5:37) / Almost Eden (5:18) / Downtown Babylon (4:44) / Heart On The Line (4:07) / Experience XTC (4:24)

Carsten "Lizard" Schulz - vocals
Axel "Ironfinger" Ritt - 6 & 12-string acoustic guitars, 6 & 12-string electric guitars, sitar, backing and harmony vocals
Erdmann Lange - acoustic and electric piano, Hammond organ, synthesizers
Dirk "Dingens" Beckers - bass
Edgar Schmidt - drums

Kingdom - Lost In The City (1987)
Our Kingdom (1988)
Before The Storm (1989)
Crack In The Wall (1991)
Collection 1986-1992 (1992)
One Million Lightyears From Home (2001)
New Horizons (2001)
The Artefact (2002)
The Sixth Dimension (2003)
Last Days Of Utopia (2005)
The Essence Of Glory (2005)
Stardawn (2006)
The Chronicles Of Love, Hate And Sorrow (2009)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: December 11th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 829
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]