Dyslesia - My Own Revolution

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Brennus
Catalog Number: BR8048.A.R
Format: CD
Total Time: 56:49:00

French band Dyslesia was formed back in 1986 as a trio playing straight heavy metal on the border of thrash metal. Later, with the addition of keyboards and new full time singer in Thierry Lebourg, the band took a slight change in style developing a more progressive and melodic approach yet still holding on to the up-tempo power metal which was, until then, their trademark. The band has opened for major acts such as Stratovarius, Rage, Elegy, Royal Hunt and Manowar and their debut is now released on Brennus records.

What we get here is slightly up-tempo progressive & power metal. The music is very guitar oriented although the mid-to high-ranged vocals is rather up front, too. The band change between up-tempo verses to more mid-paced progressive tinged verses. Although it's melodic, there is a slight dark atmosphere to the songs. There are some very good songs to be found here, but the bands biggest problem is that the material offered is very varied when it comes to quality. There are some cool songs to be found, but some songs lack good melody-lines. They are definitely on to something in each song, but don't achieve to keep the quality throughout. Some songs are great all the way through so the band show that they are capable of big things.

The band is competent as musicians, and the guitarist is very present and clearly talented, although some solos lack feeling and can be rather disturbing at times. The vocalist has a wide range, and maybe at times too wide, as when he's doing the highest octaves, he can seem a bit off key. I prefer the more mid-ranged stuff to the high-pitched stuff. The production is OK and should not cause any problems for the listener, although it can seem a bit unpolished and raw at times, and the lack the power that lies within this bands music. The mix is good, with all instruments present, although the guitars and vox with advantage could be not as up-front in the mix. There clearly lies a potential in this band, and they are absolutely on to something here, although they don't manage to keep the quality throughout all songs.

There are some good songs to be found which fans of powerprog certainly will enjoy and I'm excited to see what this band can come up with on their next album. The next CD could be really good!

[This review originally appeared 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
Intro / My Last Wish / Never More / My Own Revolution / Lights And Dreams / Like A Prophet / Fallen Angels / Bad Memories / This Is What I Am / Lost Illusions

Yves Bernardin - guitar
Francois Brisk - drums
Francois Loprete - guitars, vocals
Thierry Lebourg - lead vocals
Jo Loprete - bass
Jean Michael Foret - keyboards

My Own Revolution (1999)
Who Dares Wins (2001)
Years Of Secret (2002)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin FR

Added: December 11th 2004
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 830
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]