Chinchilla - The Last Millenium

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Metal Blade
Catalog Number: 3984 14396 2
Format: CD
Total Time: 48:57:00

Following Chinchilla's previous Metal Blade release Madness comes this heavy laden power metal album with a charm all its own - The Last Millennium

This album rocks, especially with the two explosives opening numbers in "War Machine" and "The Demons We Call" - two of the most resounding and magnificent songs on this album and two songs that showcase the difference between this album and their last album. On previous albums, Chinchilla usually offered short, punchy, self-contained dynamic numbers. On The Last Millennium though, Chinchilla have overloaded themselves with much more diversity yet still retaining their very heavy power metal fixaxtions.

The Last Millennium features the same line-up as Madness and this works in the band's favour. Vocalist Thomas Lasch runs the gauntlet of Dirk Thurisch (Angel Dust), Andy Franck (Brainstorm, Symphorce), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), and a touch of Tobias Sammet (Edguy) - all the while sounding entertaining and original. They definitely have at their hands an amazing screamer. His accented vocals are attributed partly to the lyrics which carry a few mistakes in grammar but it really doesn't matter because the band manage to make it all work with nary a problem. The group choruses are an element of Chinchilla that deserves mentioning because they are heavy and catchy and easy to sing along to. Backing vocals on this album features Andy Franck (Symphorce, Brainstorm) and Artur Diessner (Fuse) and are really well used.

The great thing about the album is that it sounds so raw, unplugged, and so powerful - and this is exactly what the band were after. Musically the band are strong and powerful, never fearing for an exactness but more focussed on melody, rhythm and just plain catchy songs - and they succeed like Brainstorm and Grave Digger. The album lacks a couple of straight numbers like on Madness to round out the album which is my only real complaint. This would have mixed the album up slightly and unlike Madness there are no ballads on the album which I think is disappointing because Madness handled that nicely. The keys, attributed to Marc Steck and guitarist Udo Gerstenmeyer add another layer to an album that doesn't really need them but you're more than happy with them in there. They are as subtly used as they are on any Angel Dust album which is the closest comparison. They are drowned out at times by the loud rhythm section and the vociferous guitars though.

If you're a big fan of power metal - then you'll already have this album. For others who are thinking of purchasing it - it's definitely one that stands above the rest and in particular if you have their last album and you're looking for more depth, more metal, and a cover of Thin Lizzy's "The Boys Are Back in Town," then you"ve come to the right place.

Similar To: Brainstorm

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
The Last Millenium (1:48) / War Machine (4:54) / Demons We Call (6:03) / Nightrain Of Death (4:51) / Father Forgive Me (5:08) / After The War (5:20) / Victims Of The Night (5:40) / The Boys Are Back In Town (5:45) / They Are Liars (4:29) / The Highest Price (6:59)

Thomas Laasch - lead vocals
Udo Gerstenmeyer - guitars; keyboards (1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10)
Marc Peters - bass, backing vocals
Steffen Theurer - drums, backing vocals
Marc Steck - keyboards (2, 3, 7)
Andy B Franck - backing vocals
Artur Diessner - backing vocals

No Mercy (1990)
Who Is Who (ep) (1994)
Horrorscope (1998)
Madness (2000)
The Last Millenium (2002)
Madtropolis (2003)
Take No Prisoners (2004)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: December 7th 2004
Reviewer: Gary Carson
Artist website:
Hits: 863
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]