Casual Silence - Once In A Blue Moon

Year of Release: 2003
Label: Independent
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 00:00:00

This year the Dutch Progressive Rock band Casual Silence celebrated their tenth anniversary and they gave the fans a fantastic present: their first full length album, which they played live in its entirety at the presentation of Once In A Blue Moon. Casual Silence is a remarkable band with no less than three vocalists: as besides lead vocalist Rob Laarhoven (Darwin's Pride), Ernst Le Coq D'Armandville (what's in a name?), who also plays guitar, and also bass player Eric Smits has his part in the vocals, too. The band is completed with the very versatile drummer Igor Koopmans, guitarist Mark van Dijk, who handles the heavier guitar riffs, and the excellent keyboard player Henry Meeuws (Medea).

Despite the fact that some of the songs have been released on earlier demos, the album sounds very consistent and has some very strong compositions and catchy melodies. Once In A Blue Moon has a fine balance, but knows how to rock, with a metal edge. The heavier songs are "Dreampath" and "Casual Silence," where the heavy guitar by Mark van Dijk is accompanied by vivid keyboards. "Casual Silence" starts out as a ballad with soft vocals and a smooth guitar solo, but gets heavier after a while and shows what this band can do. The rest of the album are lighter, more symphonic songs, with great guitar parts and where "Dreamweaver" stands out as a very beautiful ballad with a great guest vocalist, Sandra Peeters (V-Male). "Foolish Plane" has a pounding bass line and crystal clear keys whilst "Lambrusco Evening," besides "Casual Silence," is my favourite song of the album with just a hint of nu-metal in it.

Casual Silence is not a band with a load of releases, but they have a lot of live experience and this has resulted in a very strong, fresh and melodic album that spends a lot of time in my CD player. This is a band with a very promising future and their first full length album should not miss in your CD collection! Besides the compositions the album also has a very good production and stunning artwork, created by Erwin Munsters (Darwin's Pride). Check out their website for more information, live dates and to purchase this fantastic album: I don't think there is more I can say, you have to listen to this album yourself. But you will not be disappointed as Casual Silence will surprise you and once you heard it, there is no way back ... "you're trapped into a silence ... a casual silence ..."

[Incidently, the band's website is designed/maintained by Marcel, who has done a nice job with it - PW ed.]

Similar bands: Darwin's Pride, The Flower Kings, Jadis

[This review originally appeared May 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]
Exit X (1:16) / Facing Reality (6:26) / Foolish Plane (5:13) / Dreampath (7:55) / Dreamweaver (3:41) / Weird Promises (5:20) / Lambrusco Evening (6:36) / Moon (6:33) / Casual Silence (10:03)

Rob Laarhoven - lead vocals
Igor Koopmans - drums, percussion
Ernst Le Cocq D'Armandville - guitar, vocals
Eric Smits - bass, vocals
Mark Van Dijk - guitar
Henry Meeuws - keyboards, guitar
Sandra Peeters (V-Male) - guest vocals (5)

Roadside Memories (1997)
Shameless Dressed (ep) (1999) (oop) Demo 2001 (ep) (2001)
Once In A Blue Moon (2003)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin NL

Added: December 9th 2004
Reviewer: Marcel Haster
Artist website:
Hits: 2116
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]