Spring - Spring

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Akarma Records/Neon Records
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: LP
Total Time: 54:46:00

I find it amazing how many groups there were on the cusp of something as big as the development of an entire genre of music. Progressive rock was just starting to kick it into high gear in 1971 and bands like Spring were working on important recordings like this self-titled set.

At first, I was not sure what the picture of the dead soldier meant but after listening to the albums lyrics, it makes more sense. The album certainly has a theme. "The Prisoner," "Fool's Gold," "Shipwrecked Soldier," "Golden Fleece," and "Grail" certainly have an explorer war like premise.

The tone created by this talented group on this outstanding effort needs a much harder look than ever before. Perhaps the reasons why you have not heard too much of this band is that giving credit were credit was due has been part of the problem?not an all together unusual circumstance in a business full of unfairness and corruption. Part of this entire process of recollection for us all interested in learning more about some of the pioneers of prog-rock is discovering important contributors such as Spring.

Lead vocalist Pat Moran's style is reminiscent of the dreamy and smooth vocal engagements of the legendary Jon Anderson of Yes. I use Anderson as a benchmark for vocalist in this genre for obvious reasons. His influence can be heard everywhere in rock music from past to present. Spring's music is tasteful with compositions featuring elegant keyboards and guitars and equally powerfully intoxicating measures of the same when needed to emphasize the lyrics and give listeners chunks of instrumental passages that have become typical for this type of music. This reissue includes original artwork with gatefold sleeves housing two high quality pressed 180-Gram vinyl LPs.

Side One: The Prisoner (Eight By Ten) (5:34) / Grail (6:44) / Boats (1:50)

Side Two: Shipwrecked Soldier ( 5:12) / Golden Fleece (6:59)

Side Three: Inside Out (4:49) / Song To Absent Friends (The Island) (2:47) / Gazing (5:54)

Side Four: Bonus Tracks: . Fool's Gold (6:26) / Hendre Mews (7:14) / A Word Full Of Whispers (3:57)

Kipps Crown - keyboards
Adrian Maloney - bass
Pick Withers - drums
Ray Martinez - guitar
Pat Moran - vocals

Spring (1971/2002)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin UK

Added: January 12th 2003
Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
Artist website:
Hits: 678
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]