Welcome to Progressiveworld.net - Your Ultimate Guide To Progressive Music
  


Contact ProgressiveWorld: P O Box 1476, Glendora, CA 91740-1476; info@progressiveworld.net

Features
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • Articles/Editorials
  • AvantGo
  • CD/DVD Reviews
  • Downloads
  • FAQ
  • Feedback
  • Festivals
  • Interviews
  • News Archive
  • Recommend Us
  • Releases
  • ReleasesArchive
  • Search
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account


  • Recent Additions
    ·CD/DVD: Jethro Tull - A Passion Play - An Extended Performance
    ·CD/DVD: Anderson, Ian - Homo Erraticus
    ·CD/DVD: Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything
    ·CD/DVD: Flying Colors - Live In Europe
    ·CD/DVD: Mostly Autumn - Live At The Boerderij
    ·Live: RoSFest 2011 (May 2011)
    ·Live: Wishbone Ash (April 2011)
    ·Live: Rudess, Jordan And Marco Minnemann In Concert On BandCrashers.com (December 2010)
    ·Live: Electric Sorcery (May 2009)
    ·Live: RoSFest 2010 (May 2010)
    ·Interview: Rigoni, Alberto (January 2013)
    ·Interview: Wetton, John (July 2011)
    ·Interview: Mangini, Mike (May 2011)
    ·Interview: Benešovský, Filip (October 2009)
    ·Interview: Shelley, Lynnette and Brandon Ross (April 2008)


    Event Calendar


    Who's Online
    There are currently, 65 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here


    Login
    Nickname

    Password

    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.


    Languages
    Select Interface Language:



      

    Kamelot - Epica


    Year of Release: 2003
    Label: Noise Records
    Catalog Number: NO3772
    Format: CD
    Total Time: 00:00:00

    Kamelot reminded me so much of Queensryche it was scary. Their approach and sound is very similar. The fact that Roy Khan is a dead ringer for Geoff Tate was probably what struck me as amazingly obvious. Let me be clear about one thing, it is a compliment not a misgiving or negative intonation in any way that I draw this comparison. If you find any familiarity and or common ground with the music you are hearing for the first time, that is a step in the right direction, at least it is for me. While they push out powerful surges of melodic metal as if it were a high voltage line gone wild on their recent release Epica, in the same instance they provide moments of bliss and beauty to give their sound a balance and tone that defines what they are communicating through music and lyrics. This is all great stuff! I really enjoyed it.

    I thought to give things a different spin I would offer this explanation of the story in the album provided by the group. This information was taken directly off the band's website.

    1) Prologue
    This is the intro to the album where the listener is being placed in a dreamlike sequence. Simply there to set the atmosphere, but it's also a reference to "Prologue in Heaven" in the book it is inspired by (Faust).

    2) Center of the Universe
    This song is an extension of the Prologue, and is directing the listener into his own mind or the "inner universe", where all questions may possibly be answered. This is the first song on the album, but actually the last song that was finished for Epica.

    3) Farewell
    The journey begins; In Farewell, Ariel (the main character) burns all bridges and leaves everything he knows behind. He cannot find the answers he's looking for in science or religion, and wants to explore the world on his own. This song was made on a stormy night in Florida in the summer of 2001.

    4) Interlude I (Opiate Soul)
    In this piece we try to describe the darkness and desperation one can feel having fallen into human addiction.

    5) Edge of Paradise
    Ariel is balancing on the edge. His encounter with the great world out there has been anything but successful. In foreign countries far away from home, he experiments with alternative ways to find happiness and peace, but is slowly loosing his grip on life.

    We chose the mixture of Arabic scales and Gregorian-like choirs to portray the temptations, pleasures and pitfalls of hazardous reality escape. Quite a few bottles of good Bordeaux went down during the process of writing this song.

    6) Wander
    In his desperation, Ariel seeks back to a time where love and youth were carrying him on a wave of promises. He understands that these dreams are only sentimental wishes. Life has no longer a purpose for him.

    7) Interlude II (Omen)
    At this point Ariel is determined to take his own life. The melody is a reference to Helena's death scene later on the album.

    8) Descent of the Archangel
    When Ariel is at his lowest, Mephisto as he wishes to call himself, appears in the pale moonlight. Ariel is totally surprised as the devil seems to be nothing like what he had expected; In the shape of a beautiful woman, Mephisto politely explains Ariel what he could bring to his life.

    Luca Turilli from Rhapsody plays the first half of the guitar solo on this song.

    9) Interlude III (At the Banquet)

    A lot of people are gathered at Mephisto's castle, where Ariel has been invited. He arrives a little late, but just in time to catch his host's remarkable entrance.

    10) A Feast for the Vain
    At the big party Ariel make friends with everybody and has the time of his life. Women, drinks, food?Mephisto covers any carnal need. At the end of the song Ariel signs the deal that will be fatal?

    11) On the Coldest Winter Night
    After the party, Ariel all of a sudden meets Helena, the girl from his youth. They share a short, but intense moment together.

    This song has a strong reference to cold (as opposed to Wander which refers to summer) that symbolically describes Ariel's change after his meeting with Mephisto. It was recorded live in the studio with djembe and D-bass.

    12) Lost & Damned
    Helena approaches Ariel to tell him that she's pregnant, but never gets that far. Ariel is convinced that the deal he has with Mephisto will cause her too much pain and suffering. He is anyway seeking a higher goal than love. At least that is what he believes at this point in the story. He tells her decisively to forget all about him and leave.

    The tango-like verse in this song is an attempt to musically describe the tension between Helena and Ariel. Fabricio Alejandro is featured on the bandoneon.

    13) Helena's Theme
    Helena drowns herself in the river.

    A stunning performance by the American singer, Mari, beautifully supported by Rodenberg Symphony Orchestra.

    14) Interlude IV (Dawn)
    The town crier reads the news about Helena's death.

    Guest appearance by Ian Parry (Elegy/Consortium Project).

    15) The Mourning After
    Ariel hears about Helena having taken her own life, and with her their unborn child. He mourns deeply, but hopes that they will meet again on the other side.

    16) III Ways to Epica
    This song closes part I of the concept. It sums up the album with Mephisto clearly representing evil and cynicism, whilst Helena reappears as an angel representing good. Ariel is still somewhere in the middle?still searching balance and ultimate truth.

    While this may not define your own personal vision of a concept album, this is what it is to the group in their own words and I would venture to guess many of their listeners. As written in the track sixteen description - "This song closes part I of the concept.? If there is a naysayer out there, which I am sure there is, that wants to rant about this not being a concept album, contact the group, as I got it right from the horse's mouth.


    Tracklisting:
    Prologue / Center Of The Universe / Farewell / Interlude I (Opiate Soul) / Edge Of Paradise / Wander / Interlude II (Omen) / Descent Of The Archangel / Interlude III (At The Banquet) / A Feast For The Vain / The Coldest Winter Night / Lost & Damned / Helena's Theme / Interlude IV (Dawn) / The Mourning After / III Ways To Epica

    Musicians:
    Roy Khan - vocals
    Thomas Youngblood - guitars
    Glenn Barry - bass
    Casey Grillo - drums

    Discography:
    Eternity (1996)
    Dominion (1997)
    Siege Perilous (1998)
    The Fourth Legacy (2000)
    The Expedition - Live (2000)
    Karma (2001)
    Epica (2003)
    The Black Halo (2005)
    One Cold Winter's Night (2006)
    Ghost Opera (2007)
    Ghost Opera - The Second Coming (2008)

    One Cold Winter's Night (DVD) (2006)

    Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

    Origin US

    Added: February 11th 2003
    Reviewer: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck
    Score:
    Artist website: www.kamelot.com
    Hits: 597
    Language: english
      

    [ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    Web site powered by PHP-Nuke Progressiveworld.net

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters.
    All core content (reviews, interviews, etc.) © 1997 - 2014 ProgressiveWorld.net and respective authors.
    You can syndicate our news using the file ultramode.txt (note: we're fixin an error in backend.php)
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds